We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colosseum Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekend Save 35%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Century City
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nicely located near Canal walk. Service and staff was good. Breakfast buffet was good though didn't vary day to day. Didn't have a swimming pool. Hotel doesn't have a shuttle service and had only one taxi so on one day ended up waiting for over an hour at a point for pick up. Rooms are beautifully done though.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing Table Mountain...beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear ParveN
Thank you for your support and your comments. Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services. I trust you had a safe journey back home and we hope to see you back with us soon.
Kindest regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    48
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
41
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an executive suite for two nights, and found the room perfect for our family of four. The kitchenette was convenient and the bathroom modern and spotless. The children loved their little goodie buckets! All staff members were friendly and efficient and check-in went smoothly. We had a lovely dinner at Cin Cin: the lamb shank is highly recommended. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Anne
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we really appreciate it. We are truly humbled by your comments and I am glad that that we could exceed your expectations. We hope to see you and your family back in the not too distant future.

All the very best

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 3 days in a 2 bedroom penthouse for my family of 2 adults and 4 young children. Location is convenient, within walking distance to Century City where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. Room is spacious and clean. Only downside is air conditioning and hot water were not working when I checked in but the staff recovered well by promptly sending someone to resolve it. Breakfast spread was good. Overall, a hotel I rated well because of their excellent service staff, which makes us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Ryan P

I hope that you had a safe journey home.

Thank you for having chosen the Colosseum Luxury Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent trip to Cape Town. The team and I were very pleased to have you as our guest and we trust you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as we have enjoyed serving you. Thanks for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and for telling us about your experience at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Kindest Regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, bed & breakfasts, hostels etc. internationally and can say, with no hesitation, that the Colosseum Luxury Hotel ranks right up there at no. 1. I brought 10 schoolboys to Cape Town on a Water Polo tour and we decided to stay at the Colosseum. From the start we were treated!

The friendly staff welcomed us and quickly got us into our room- the cards etc. were already sorted before our arrival. The evening we dined in the CinCin restaurant. Great prices, even better quality food.

Another aspect which is really worth mentioning is the quality of the rooms. This is always a worry for a traveller and in this case, no traveller should have to worry as the rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. Also worth mentioning was the spaciousness of the rooms.

The around the hotel there are numerous coffee shops and ATM's, and it is a two minute walk from Century City/Canal Walk which was very convenient.

5 Stars for service, staff, food, rooms, location - a must for any traveller to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Leon

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we really appreciate it. We are truly humbled by your comments and I am glad that that we could exceed your expectations. We hope to see you and another one of your groups back with us in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingelom, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We reserved online, but they didn't receive it, because they make one print out every day...? We told them in the booking we were on our honeymoon and wanted to stay for 3 nights. No 'congratulations' and nothing special for us.

The room is nice decorated, but there is NO privacy: bath next to the bed. Shower and toilet next to the bath, with see through wall... Breakfast was ok, but too busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing this to our attention - we do appreciate it.

We have investigated the matter with our Reservations Manager and it appears there was miscommunication with your Honeymoon details.

This does come as quite a surprise as we like to go above and beyond to make ALL our guests feel special regardless of occasion (we even give our frequent guests pet goldfish for the duration of their stay).

We would love to make this up to you and have you back for one of your future anniversaries.

Keep well, and travel safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

exceptional service all round from the porter to management!

the size of the room was such a pleasure, I usually feel quite claustrophobic in hotel rooms, however the deluxe room at the Colosseum was spacious enough.

The food was excellent !

I will definitly recommend this hotel to leisure and business travellers alike as the hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Candis P

Wow, we are extremely humbled by your feedback!
Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services.
Thank you for your compliment on our hotel TEAM and our product, we are truly lucky to have such stars working alongside us.

One thing we can guarantee on your next reservation is a smile on check-in :-)

Kindest regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have to concur with the previous reviewer "pawsandclaws" regarding the urgent need for staff training at this hotel - especially Front Desk and Breakfast Room - two points of service that have the potential to make or break a hotel's reputation. YES - the view from our very spacious and wonderfully comfortable suite was stunning and panoramic, stretching as it does from False Bay across to Table Bay with the magnificent Mountain in the middle. BUT, the delays and hassles in actually checking into that room with a view were totally unacceptable! Confusions at check-in as a result of some ridiculous mixup with room allocation and the to and fro backwards & forwards to the Front Desk trying to resolve this, were frustrating and shocking after a long day's journey. Considering we had booked AND paid in full over a month before-hand - this was inexcusable. I won't go into the details of bad service ethic and negligent behaviours of Breakfast Room staff - definitely indicative of an urgent need for training and vigilant supervision!! Having said all this - I must acknowledge that the concern and apologies expressed by a very helpful newly appointed Guest Services Executive (still on probation) went a long way to making amends for the disappointment we felt on this the occasion of a celebratory stay for our wedding anniversary - as did his thoughtful delivery of a cheese platter and bottle of wine. He acknowledged the need for staff training and "attention to detail" in service delivery and I truly believe the hotel management would be wise to harness this gentleman's obvious talents in customer relations and customer care to the good of their enterprise - and make his appointment a permanent one - this would undoubtedly be in their best interests and his.

Room Tip: Obviously a mountain facing room is first prize here and the higher up the better - and closer to Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Trish

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.
Your continued support is much appreciated and we value your comments on where and how to improve on our services. We have a number of training plans in place which we are busy conducting for all new and some existing staff. We hope to see you back soon so we can show you hospitality at its best.
Yours sincerely
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Century City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colosseum Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.