We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place I would stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Macon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Macon to your Saves list
Super 8 Macon
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   203 East Briggs Road, Jct Hwys 36 & 63, Macon, MO 63552-1950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not a place I would stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The only reason we stayed here was because the comfort inn was booked. The hallways smelled horriable. They smelled like a big ashtray. There was no elevator and we were on the 3rd floor!!!! The room was not good at all. I found black spots on my sheets and wasn't too sure they weren't bed bugs. Yuck!! The bed was hard as a rock. The price we paid was way more then ever should be charged for such a yucky place to stay. We were just really disappointed with the entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaconSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Macon, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are proud to announce that our hotel has now gone to NON SMOKING. We feel that this has been an issue with alot of our guest and hope that this makes everyones stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
20
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Overall this is a typical Super 8 experience. There is no pool and very few amenities beyond the cable TV and the meager continental breakfast in the tiny reception area. Breakfast included fresh Belgian waffles, packaged cereal, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, bagels, coffee, and assorted juices.

While the size of the breakfast area might typically be enough for this place, it was definitely crowded when the hotel filled up for local graduation ceremonies. We've been to other Super 8s where the hotel converted one of their rooms to the breakfast area and I would recommend the Macon Super 8 do the same.

The two double-bed rooms were a bit cramped, especially for some family members that had a baby and a dog along. Beds were comfortable enough to sleep on and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom did not have an exhaust fan. I don't understand why hotels don't see the value of an exhaust fan -- they help expel moisture and odors from the bathroom and that's essential for comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side should be quieter since the freeway runs on the north side. Parking spaces o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaconSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Macon, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Guest comments help us to become more aware of what our guest are experiencing. It helps us to challenge ourselves to make the nessessary changes. We are excited about the new Super 8 Breakfast that you experienced and we are thankful that you were able to rest during your stay. We strive daily for your satisfaction during your visits. We want to ensure that you have the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

On a trip from Nebraska to Champaign, IL, we got a late start in the day. We had planned on driving to Hannibal the first day and then on to Champaign the second day. I had done some research on Hannibal and learned there were several chain motels in this city. Since we had a late start, I did not make a reservation. My wife and I became tired so selected to abort our trip to Hannibal and selected the next town, Macon, to spend the remainder of the night. We only saw two motels, a Super 8 and another inexpensive motel. I selected the Super 8. The price was higher than I had expected but I did not negotiate as we wanted a room. The stairway leading to the third floor was dirty and when we opened the door to our room, the room had not been cleaned since an occupant had left the room. The breakfast area is very small, only a couple tables. A couple people were standing eating. Overall, it was not a great place to spend a night. When I was much younger, I stayed in Super 8's a lot and found them to be a gamble, some were nice and others were not. Once in Minneapolis we arrived at a Super 8 at 11:00 a.m. and asked to use a rest room and was denied the use of a rest room until we got to our room and we were told our room would not be available until 2 or 3. I did cancel this reservation and went across the street to another motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaconSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Macon, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the unsatisfactory conditions during your stay. Please be assured this matter has been addressed and will no longer be an issue. During your stay we had some complicating computer issues in regards to making rooms not correct in the system. Again, I apologize for the inconvience and hope to see you again to show you our hometown hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City,KS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay there was totally unplanned. The staff went out of their way to help us out. The room was clean and well appointed. Nothing fancy but all the essentials were there. The parking is well lit and seemed to be secure. It's a real oasis on a little traveled hiway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

No elevator...3 floors. Bed uncomfortable. Sour milk in fridge in tiny lobby. Hotel marked that police made rounds. Room smelled musty and old. Pass this hotel by unless you are stranded

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaconSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Macon, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to respond to your stay. As the new General Manager I am more than happy for you to call the hotel to discuss directly as we have already addressed the issues. We take great pride in our property as we have received excellent quality scores from Super 8 franchise with a perfect clean score as we inspect our rooms daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We chose this motel because of the previous reviews on TripAdvisor, although I always wonder whether they're ghost-written by the hotel management. This one is exactly as described. The care of the management is evident in the little extras like the wallpaper borders in the rooms. Everything was clean and orderly, and the staff were very friendly. An exemplary franchise motel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

I expected this hotel to be a little scary for the price, but I was pleasantly suprised. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The coolest thing about this hotel it that each room has it's own theme. Our room was "up the Creek" LOL basically the wallpaper boarder across the top of the wall was a view of a cabin overlooking a creek, but it was still very cool. The employees were incredibly sweet and helpful. The bed was comfortable.

The negatives: We were on the third floor, so there was very little water pressure (but we made due), no elevator so lots of steps, and the continental breakfast left a little bit to be desired--nothing at all fancy or filling about it.

For the price though, you couldn't really ask for anything more. Very nice hotel and would stay again.

  • Liked — The themed rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Macon

Address: 203 East Briggs Road, Jct Hwys 36 & 63, Macon, MO 63552-1950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Macon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Macon 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macon Super Eight
Macon Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.