We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAWG FATHERS, where good people eat great food...oo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawg Fathers BBQ

Hawg Fathers BBQ
805 North Missouri Street, Macon, MO 63552
660-385-4294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Macon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bean Creek MO
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“HAWG FATHERS, where good people eat great food...oo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We often find an excuse to make the 1 hour 15 min trip up to HAWG FATHER'S Macon, Mo. where friendly greetings await and out-of-this-world food is served at very reasonable prices...
Try the rib's with sweet potato fries, breaded or grilled tenderloin...
Stop in for a good meal, you'll be glad you did...!

See ya down the road... .. .O o- C (MoBC..=)~

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great selection of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not only does this terrific restaurant have great food, they also have a great selection of other foods. Our family has visited Hawg Father's on several occasions and have never been disappointed with the service or quality of food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OH YEAH!! This is the place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the only real, consistently good, barbeque available in a restaurant in northeast Missouri. They really know how to smoke it here. Every time we've been in there the service has been friendly and good (not always fast, but worth the wait). The only negatives are some of the side dishes. They're not bad, just different than what we are used to. But, the desserts are great. The price may seem just a little high, compared to other restaurants in the area, but the portions are very ample, and this is the only really good BBQ you're going to find anywhere within at least 60 miles.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good bbq just too pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food is good but the prices are a little steep for BBQ in my opinion. The restaurant is clean and the employees are nice. I just can't see dropping $26.00 for an lunch or dinner there. To pricey in my opinion.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Ribs o.k., rest below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Four friends who enjoy trying different places had passed Hawg Fathers several time. In late October, we decided to stop.
It was a poor decision.

The one who had ribs said they were good. The rest of us tried chicken and brisket. They were definitely sub-par--dry, tough, not pleasingly presented. The sides were mediocre.

The atmosphere was friendly, but the floor was dirty--perhaps because we were late in the evening meal timeframe.

We didn't have the much touted cold beer. Maybe that would have made the food seem better.

There are other options in Macon. We'll try them, because we know good BBQ, and this one isn't it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawg Fathers BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hawg Fathers BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawg Fathers BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.