We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by such a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Macon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Macon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Macon
1821 Missouri Highway 63 North, Macon, MO 63552   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Macon
West Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Surprised by such a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were just traveling through, and Macon was the place we stopped. Im a Choice member so we chose the Comfort Inn to get the points. We were surprised how nice the hotel was. It was new or recently remodeled and tastefully decorated. The place is decorated in lodge style and has a lodge like feel. The rooms were also larger than the standard size room. Thought it was a nice personal touch as a towel on a sink was folded in the shape of a turkey. The kids got a big kick out of that. It has a nice pool that was again clean. The staff at the front desk was very helpful, as they assisted me in filling out an app for a $50 gift card for Choice members.

Breakfast also was better than expected as everything was fresh and nothing ran out as staff was very atttentive to the food.

For all this, I actually got a better rate than what I expected. I was expecting the typical no frills franchise hotel as this is somewhat of a remote location. But we enjoyed our short stay and felt that we got a good deal for once.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us how we did while you stayed with us. Our Comfort Inn family takes great pride in showing our guest's a wonderful experience. Our housekeeping staff have a lot of fun making different towel animals for the rooms, especially since we are considered "pet free". Guest's get a kick out of it! We appreciate your Choice Privileges membership!! Great way to earn free nights and other great things. Thank you again for your wonderful comments! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit through town :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
19
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stay here frequently while visiting relatives in Macon. Hotel is clean, staff is very efficient and friendly and the facility is up to date. Very nice breakfast. Booking was easy considering we booked only hours before our required stay. They were also able to accommodate or request for adjoining rooms. Can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We truly appreciate letting us know how we are doing while you are with us. Thank you for your continued business and please let us know anytime how we can make your visit even better! Look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This Comfort Inn was recently updated, the work was done right and looks sharp. The service was excellent with easy check in and check out. The hot breakfast included eggs, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, as well as Belgian waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for noticing some of our new upgrades to the hotel. We have new carpet in the lobby and breakfast area, not to mention our banquet room. We just recently placed a brand new clean, crisp looking bedding in our rooms. Closer to the end of this year, we will be installing new carpet throughout the corridors and getting new wall furnishings. These next 2-3 years, we are excited to say, we will be refreshing our look all around! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great Comfort Inn, very clean, helpful staff, easy to find location, good parking and quiet rooms. Rooms were equipped with ethernet connection in addition to wi-fi. If your travels take you across Missouri and you need a place to stay, you will not be disappointed with this Comfort Inn. The breakfast area is small but it was not crowded when we ate. While in Macon, make sure you eat at AJ's just south of the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor is always quieter but there may be a wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing from you and your great time in Macon, especially at AJ's. Fabulous place to eat! We look forward to your next visit with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Comfort Inn in Macon. Very nice facility, quite, and has one of the better breakfasts we have encountered at any Comfort Inn. The only issued we saw are related to the breakfast area.
1. It is too small. Having slightly smaller tables (in place of the six that are there) would be a step in the right direction.
2. It was hotter in the breakfast room than in the lobby adjacent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We truly appreciate hearing about your stay with us. I can appreciate wanting our breakfast room a little bigger. There are many days it is wonderful, but I must say when we are very busy, it can get a little crowded. We will be renovating our breakfast area in the next year and hope to add a few more seating arrangements. Also, during our peak season we try to open our banquet room for extra seating when it's available. Again, thank you for your comments and enjoy hearing how well you like our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed this facility for a couple nights. Upon arrival my expectations were heightened by the "Comfort Hotel 2013 Platinum Award Banner" draped along the front walk way. Now, follow that up with a "TripAdvisor 2013 Outstanding Award" framed and in full view at the check-in desk. We arrived at our room to find a "dog" of twisted towels waiting for us on the bathroom counter top (see photo) No doubt, A special fun touch from our housekeeper. The room was clean and proper all around. No complaints about the bed, the pillows and towels, etc.
Breakfast was available on "real" plates, bowls, and cups with metal silverware ~ none of that Styrofoam plates, plastic or paper stuff here. A substantial and diverse array of quality food was provided. Super so far. A nice, quiet hotel with ample parking.
The possible shortcomings are: First; With an indoor pool and hot tub right at the elevator lobby, so many parents fail to educate their children in what the "provided towels" are for. Therefore, the little rascals/darlings drip a huge trail of water onto the main hall, the elevator floor and half way down whichever floor their room is on. I know = Not your fault. Second: Possible "real world" complaint might well be the actual hotel owner and that owners "need" to try to "milk" another $2 out of each nightly stay with the "safe charge" Really? For the almost un-noticed little room safe that was tucked away into the bottom shelf of the bedside table. The desk clerk was very quick to happily take it, at the slightest question, off our bill ... So, Why charge it? To catch those few unsuspecting guests? Yikes .. I'd doubt their ill-will is outweighed by the 2 bucks. Yes! I realize it is a nice touch of security and used by some guests. It's your call. I'd be back either way. It is the nicest hotel in this small dusty town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We truly appeciate hearing about the wonderful experience you encountered at the Macon Comfort Inn. Our staff and management team love knowing how their hard work helped to make a guest's stay with us more enjoyable. The owners pride themselves on reaching every guest's need's and are always looking for new and creative ways to impress our guest's. The china we use for breakfast is a great amenity, not to mention a great "Go Green" initiative. Thank you again for all your wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have stayed here twice over the past two years. Both times my room had a funky, musty smell like you'd find in someone's gym locker. The room itself was very nice and the hotel was also great, if not for the room's smell. They did offer to upgrade me to a suite, but I was so tired I didn't want to schlep my luggage to another room. Instead I dribbled a little cologne over the air conditioner vent to help cover the smell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Macon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the unsatisfactory condition of your room. We are investigating the issue and feel confident in our efforts. We truly appeciate your great comments regarding our staff and the hotel in general. Our staff pride's themselves on being Top 10 and we strive to exceed our guest's expectations. Please let me know if you have the same issue on your next stay with us via email at maconcomfort@yahoo.com. Thank you for your repeating business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Macon

Address: 1821 Missouri Highway 63 North, Macon, MO 63552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique upscale rustic lodge atmosphere. Free wired and wireless high speed internet. Free HOT breakfast includes: Belgian waffles, hot eggs, biscuits/gravy, hashbrowns, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, pastries, juice and Royal Cup coffee. All rooms include refrigerator/microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/board, full length mirror, cable TV w/HBO. Suites available with hot tub. Indoor pool, hot tub, exercise room, business center, guest laundry and elevator. Nightly Otis Spunkmeyer cookies. Meeting/banquet rooms up to 130 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Macon Hotel Macon
Macon Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.