We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place on the MIssissippi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Louisiana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River's Edge Motel
Save
You added River's Edge Motel to your Saves list
201 Mansion St, Louisiana, MO 63353   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisiana
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great place on the MIssissippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed over night at the River's Edge Motel and absolutely loved it. We like "older" properties that are well maintained. It is "Vintage" as another way of saying it and very comfortable. The owners/managers were so very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean large enough for comfort. We stayed in a "corner' room with spectacular view of the Mississippi River. While there we saw six of seven bald eagles flying and lighted on the bridge. The small town itself is fun to just drive around and see all of the older buildings. If you are looking for a weekend get a way, this is a nice short trip from Columbia or St. Louis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I was working in Louisiana and decided to give the hotel a shot. I have stayed at MANY hotels over the years and must say that the river view room was relaxing and affordable. This same room with the same view in the city would be 200+. If you're looking for the Mariott - good luck. This is a hotel that will pleasantly surprise you.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view room (#30)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Happened on this place (via internet) when there were no rooms with a river view available in Hannibal. So very glad it happened as it did. We had a room with wonderful views of the river. The room was very clean - even the windows were clean, and the staff friendly. Very comfortable and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at the River's Edge Motel on July 3rd. It was better than looked from the outside. The desk staff was pleasant. The large room was newly furnished with a flat screen TV, comfortable beds, refrigerator and microwave. You can actually see the Mississippi River from the Hotel and hear the trains passing below at night. The only bad thing was it is an older motel and looks like it could use some major renovations, as there are places bugs can crawl though and grime here and there. It's not a 4 star hotel, but quite comfortable and pleasant for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I enjoy interesting places. We have stayed at this motel each year or so for 4 years. The owner/manager is great, very positive and happy and proud of this modest motel. He keeps it very clean, the rooms are just fine with microwave and refrigerator. It over looks the Mississippi River and some of the rooms have impressive views, particularly the separate section higher up the river hill. . It is pet-friendly. Great value in an interesting and scenic river town, with several good dining choices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Midwest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Let me say at the outset that I prefer to stay in B&Bs, but I do enjoy a unique experience and that is why I opted to stay at the River's Edge motel for my recent one-night stay in the lovely little river town of Louisiana, MO. (Also, the Eagle's Nest was booked up and I was not yet aware of the Applegate B&B.)

The thing I liked most about River's Edge was the fact that it recreated the experience of my family vacations as a kid in the 1970s, when we always stayed in motels. The exterior still has that 70s flair, just like I remember. The room we stayed in has been redecorated and brought up to date, as you will see from the photos I've posted. I was surprised to see elegant window treatments, for example, and the room was painted in very pleasant earth tones, not the old boring traditional off-white one might expect. The parking lot and grounds were perfectly clean and immaculate, and the room was clean enough. One important update to the motel is that they have electronic key cards to access the rooms, not metal keys like in the old days.

The motel has two long buildings, parallel to each other but perpendicular to the river. This means that only the rooms on the very end of each building will have views looking directly east, at the river. The doors to all other rooms face south. You can see the river from the other rooms, although you'll have to look hard to the left. But hey, let's face it, most people will be staying here just for the night, and you can't see the river after it gets dark anyway. There is a train track between the hotel and the river, and it does sound its horn as it goes through Louisiana.

Other notable factors: the bed was new and comfortable, and not in the least bit "scooped" as motel beds can sometimes be. There was a coffemaker and free coffee in the room. A nice element considering the fact that this is a budget motel.

The biggest downside is that the place seems to have suffered from the lack of a handyman to do some basic fixes. Our stay was not diminished as a result, I think it is fair to mention the things I noticed that needed repair:

1) The baseboard heaters were falling off the walls in places, and in our room part of the mechanism was completely exposed for lack of a face plate. (see photo)

2) The front door knob was loose. It felt like it might come right off in my hand.

3) The deadbolt to the door wasn't quite lined up with the door jam and was hard to set. Once set, it was just as difficult to release. My traveling partner succeeded in opening the door when he threw his shoulder up against it. It wouldn't surprise me if the doorknob was so loose because of the deadbolt problem... people pulling on it too hard in an effort to get out.

4) The bathroom window lock had lost a screw and was hanging off the window frame. There was a PVC pipe cut to size, set inside the opposite window to keep the broken-lock window from being opened from the outside.

5) The room's refrigerator needed a new rubber seal and it could not hold the cold in very well.

We stayed on a cool spring night and it got cold in our room. The thermostat above the bed didn't have an off/on button; it had only a temperature setting. We set it to 90 degrees but the heat never turned on. The next morning when we asked about it, the management said that the thermostat doesn't control the heat, rather, the unit which appeared to be an air conditioner did.

In spite of the heater mixup, the management did seem to take care to explain things as well as possible before we checked in. For example, the desk attendant an example tub faucet and actually demonstrated to use how to flip the lever to change the water from the tub faucet to the shower.

Yes, there were things that could have been in better repair, but what do you expect for $56? All in all, aside from worrying if we'd be able to operate the deadbolt if we needed to exit in a hurry (as in to escape a fire) I liked having the chance to stay in this hotel and I hope the management attends to the little things in order to make things in tip-top shape again.

For those who like to travel on the cheap, I recommend taking a picnic lunch/dinner about four blocks away to Riverview Park. Up on the hilltop there are picnic tables and you can watch the railroad bridge open and close to let barges go by while you eat. If you want to grab an inexpensive breakfast at a place with the same retro panache as the River's Edge Motel, head south about seven blocks to Daybreak Donuts. They are only open in the mornings, so don't be late! They make their own donuts and the place smells heavenly. It's a small place - only about four tables fit inside, and it has a genuine retro "diner" feel to it. Poke your head in and look at the menu. If you want something more upscale, the Eagle's Nest Bistro is open for breakfast too, but it will set you back about $10 per person.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This is a great little motel! Nothing really fancy, definitely not a chain, but the people that run it are very nice and the room was very clean. Plus it had a refrigerator and microwave - and - we had the room on the end with 2 windows looking out at the Mississippi River. It was a little noisy at night (barges, trains, hiway) with both windows open but the river and the train are part of the ambiance. All this for a very reasonable price (~$60).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 201 Mansion St, Louisiana, MO 63353
Location: United States > Missouri > Louisiana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisiana
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Louisiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.