We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Garden
1170 W Kansas St, Liberty, MO 64068
816-792-1911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 71 restaurants in Liberty
Restaurant details
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Read reviews service was very slow but we found it very fast. Good chinese food at a good prce.
Large portions of food. We'll go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    1
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I like that it is clean and there is never a lot of people here. However, I have yet to order that dish that really impresses me. I usually get something with shrimp. Each time the shrimp is overcooked and rubbery. The egg rolls are odd tasting. They are not bad just different from what I am used to. I will eat there again but it is not a place I tell my friends to eat at when they want great chinese food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is old school chinese food. It is nice to order individual platters of food, not just a buffet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.C. MO.
1 review
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Good variety of choices, featuring traditional chinese and some with american options.
"best" crab rangoon in the city !
lunch special comes with crab rangoon and choice of egg drop, hot and sour and wonton soup. Staff was very friendly, and even thou an event was going on and it was saturday, our food arrived quickly and made to order. Was supplied with a take home box because even thou it was a lunch specail there was NO way we could eat it all!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Little food, high prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

After eating there, I understand why it was empty on a Saturday night. Unlike most traditional Chinese restaurants, this one didn't have egg drop soup or egg rolls with the meal. The food wasn't very tasty at all. I have never tasted shrimp so tough as on the shrimp lo mein, and the noodles were thin spaghetti instead of the Chinese noodles we looked forward to--no veggies or anything in the lo mein. Just a few pieces of tough, tasteless shrimp and spaghetti. The prices were too high for the entrees. The waitress informed us we were ready to order when we weren't. I regretted every penny I spent there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.