We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Hickory Pit BBQ

Summit Hickory Pit BBQ
1012 SE Blue Pkwy, Lee's Summit, MO 64063-4466
816-246-4434
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 169 Restaurants in Lee's Summit
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Garden City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A friend of mine wanted to eat here, I tried to talk him into going to Jack Stack, but it was closer so we ate here. Big mistake, I ordered the ribs and they were tough and had no taste what so ever. It was way over cooked. The BBQ sauce tasted like ketchup. I will never make the mistake to eat here over jack stack again. It`s a shame being so close to Kansas city that they would serve better BBQ. It`s what we are known for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shocked by good reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I hate to drill a local business, but I just hope no one comes to Kansas City and has this place be their one and only 'BBQ experience'. I've been trapped into going there twice in the past year, including this weekend. They do a good job on their chicken. Everything else is substandard. The main issues are seasoning and sauce. Order some ribs. The meat sticks to the bone, and there is just NO seasoning on the meat. It's like Perkins opened a bbq joint. It's just smoke, meat, and that tricked up ketchup they call bbq sauce. Burnt ends are the same story. I begged my folks to go to Pork N Pit or Filling Station, but they wanted a bigger place. By the end of it, all 8 of us had sworn this place off.

I seriously hope they discover the miracle of seasoned meat someday and make a comeback. It's a neat looking place with decent service. The food is just not there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great Kansas City Style barbeque and very good service. The portions are generous and the menu variety was also good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Always enjoy eating at Hickory Pit. Really enjoy the burnt end sandwich. Fries are good and service quick. BBQ sauce is of a sweet variety and you can spice it up with a hooter sauce.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Better Service/Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The food was great, the service was even better, and the resturant itself has a good feel and nice look. Price was just right. I would definitely eat there again.

I had the Burnt Ends and they were awesome.

TIP: If you use FourSquare, make sure to check in for a FREE Appetizer.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit Hickory Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Summit Hickory Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Hickory Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.