We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Happened To Houlihan's?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
625 NW Murray Road, Lee's Summit, MO 64081
816-524-2572
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 169 Restaurants in Lee's Summit
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Midwest
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“What's Happened To Houlihan's?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I have always enjoyed Houlihan's...we found the meals to be priced appropriately, the drinks to be good, and service top-notch. However, in our last two visits, we have been sorely disappointed and I believe what was once one of our favorite places will be no more.

Recently, Houlihan's has "re-designed" their menu, taking off several different meals, removing the small plates portion and adding "health" conscious choices. I understand that they may be trying to appeal to a specific demographic or trying to get ahead of the curve regarding federal-government initiatives (posting total calories). Further, with the advent of the "new" meals, the prices have also been increased and the portion sizes have been reduced.

Also, the last two visits have had spotty service: quick to get your drinks and order, never to return throughout the meal. Plus, each time the server has failed to mention their name or offer any additional input. I know, a small thing, but when you are expecting to receive positive service based on past experiences, you notice.

Anyways, with the growth of Lee's Summit and the surrounding area, other restaurant choices are available, and sadly, Houlihan's may not be in the mix any longer. Too bad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Owner at Houlihan's, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We wanted to reach out and apologize for your recent disappointing experiences! We strive for each and every visit to be a great one and we hate to hear that we are missing the mark. I would love to pass your contact information along to our Management Team in an effort to try and make things right. Feel free to email me at fscott@houlihans.com.

Faryle
Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Mo
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
903 helpful votes 903 helpful votes
“Great place for happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good food but the prices are a little high for what you get. The happy hour has a few good things on it and on Tuesday is half price wine bottle night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Another close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stopped in for supper during the week. I had a chicken wrap and my wife had the chicken tender meal. Both were good and we each took half our food home. The beer was good and cold. Our waiter did an good job overall. I say overall because he also seated us. That meant we got seated in his area. That is where I started feeling like I was in an old folks restaurant. Made me feel out of place not being dressed at least business casual. I think we would have done better closer to the bar area or not. Food was good, beer was good and cold, price was right, service overall good, atmosphere just did nothing for me. I know I am vintage, it just made me feel more so. Just wanted to eat and hit the bricks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice dinner and many drink options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Houlihan's is a nice place to go and have some thing to eat and drink. Their cocktails are wonderful and I really like their "little" plate options. Good place for after work drinks with co workers or friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peculiar, Missouri
1 review
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Through the Houlihan's FoodyCall text, both my husband and myself received a 15% off total bill coupon...if you're not a current customer of these look into them! Food was excellent as always, both store managers came and checked on us. The Spinach Dip with Lovash appetizer is one of our favorites. Houlihan's Happy Hour and Happier Hour are both worth going back for as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.