We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food in Lees Summit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monetti's Taste of Italy - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monetti's Taste of Italy
1313 NE Douglas St, Lee's Summit, MO 64086
(816) 524-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food in Lees Summit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a last minute decision to meet someone and the food ended up being terrific!
Nice dinner music and white table cloths made the evening very nice. I can't remember the last time I had white table cloths for a personal dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Monetti's gives you a taste of Italy in the KC area. The menu has terrific Italian dishes that remind one of Italy and the owner can be caught singing if he is not careful. Friday and Saturday nights are busy and the wait can be long; however, it is worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love supporting a local owned restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I like this place. They have a great menu and when the owner is there the service is admittedly much better. I just prefer to dine at small local places instead of franchise microwave meals. They also sell Thor bread to go at a good price. The brick oven is neat and when the bread is bki g the smell is amazing. Give it at try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Italian in Lee's Summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is REAL Italian food! The owner is from Italy himself (or else his mother is, can't remember.) Anyway, the food is really good and they give you some yummy garlic butter knots as a free appetizer. The first few times I really enjoyed my experience, but the last couple times the service has not been quite as good. I think it is just because they are getting busier and have more to handle. Still worth it! Be warned, the lunch and dinner menu is different so you might want to check out the menus online first and see which sounds better!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad food and owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our food was horrible and when we complained the owner came to our table saying he was tired of people complaining about our food. We didn't eat it and sent it back yet the owner still wanted us to pay for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monetti's Taste of Italy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monetti's Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.