We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munger Moss Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Munger Moss Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munger Moss Motel
Save
You added Munger Moss Motel to your Saves list
Lebanon, MO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Gladstone, Missouri
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Munger Moss Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were intrigued by the "retro" notation on this motel. We stayed there for 2 nights. Our plans were disrupted by non-stop rain so we ended up spending more time in our room than we planned. It was a clean room. The shower was good. The towels tended to be small and thin. I've noticed that many people reported that the beds were comfortable; they must not have been in the room we had. Because of the weather, flies were abundant and we had to kill flies both nights (after the maids had cleaned with the door open). We also had difficulty adjusting the temperature in the room. There was a time when we needed heat and other time we needed AC. The heat was very slow to come on and very difficult to adjust to a comfortable temperature. The AC was easy to turn on, but it didn't cool the room. The owners were friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in early in order to get a key because we planned to return late at night. Good recommendation for breakfast (Elm Street Eatery).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    48
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
74
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A welcome retreat after a wet ride on our motorcycle (doing the Route 66 thing). We had room 66! The room was spotless and a bit of a journey back in time. Bed was very comfortable.
We had a good breakfast at the Elm Street Eatery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here whilst doing the Route 66 thing on the way to LA. We were only here one night, but a great night to remember as the room we stayed in was amazing. Decorated from top to bottom with 66 pics and paintings, the bed was soooo comfy and the entire apartment was spotless. Ramona is possibly the nicest and friendliest lady you could come across, making everyone welcome as you step into the uniquely decorated reception area. No doubt my favourite stop-over on the route....a must stay place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In this case, Mom & Pop are Ramona & Bob Lehman who, although they didn't originally build the motel, they have built its reputation. From the classic neon sign, through the spotless rooms and the friendly owners, to pool side gatherings of friends and strangers, the Munger Moss is the Route 66 Motel of legend perfectly rendered in the real world. I'm a bit embarrassed to admit that this was only my second time staying here and that about thirteen years separated the two visits. I have been through Lebanon a few other times but staying at the Munger Moss didn't fit those schedules. This time I made sure it did. It felt just as comfortable now as it did in 1999.

I started to write this review several days ago but noticed that there were exactly 66 reviews at that point and I didn't want to be the one to move past the magic number. Thankfully someone did and we can now pile on more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ramona is a dynamite lady. We could have talked to her for hours. What she and Bob have done with the place is amazing. I could easily imagine what it was like for a weary traveler who was running the Mother Road fifty years ago...room was nice, and everything worked. Very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, Missouri
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you miss your Grandmother's decor, then Munger Moss on Historical Route 66 is the place for you. Remember sky-blue 4-inch tiles matching the tub and sink? That's Munger Moss's style. Plus the owners are very friendly. The office, although reeking of cigarette smoke, is stuffed full of Rt 66 memorabilia, some handmade by local craftswomen. The place is very old, but nice. On the night we stayed, a gospel convention was going on downtown so the place was full of grandmotherly types who stay at Munger Moss annually. You can't beat the price either. If you are like us, driving through on our way elsewhere, arriving late and not staying the next day, then this is a decent motel at bargain prices. Oh, and the internet WiFi beats big chains we've stayed in recently for price (free), speed, and ease of connection.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything more than a clean, old room, but expect to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in July. Great room, great value, great experience. This is not the Hilton, so don,t expect it to be. Close to everything we were going to. We were in town for a 3 day gospel concert. First time to stay here, definitely not our last. Owner was very pleasant and helped us with directions to different places. Room was very charming, very clean and a blast from days gone by. Very quiet. No noise from road or other rooms. I am a big man, and I was very comfy in this room. You have to try this one out. Talked to a couple of Norweigians who were riding Rt. 66, and really enjoyed visiting with them. I read a few bad reviews before staying here. All I can say is those people who wrote them are probably not happy with most things in life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munger Moss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munger Moss Motel

Address: Lebanon, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Munger Moss Hotel Lebanon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munger Moss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.