We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive springs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett Spring State Park

Bennett Spring State Park
26250 Hwy 64A, Lebanon, MO 65536
417-532-4338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Impressive springs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Impressive spring fed river. The hatchery was interesting. I also ate at the Lodge. The Lodge was built by the CCC during the Depression by stone masons. It is worth a trip to the Park and a meal at the Lodge.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auxvasse
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lets go Fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a place to kick back, relax and fish. Everyone is focused on fishing, but they are friendly and nice. Not much else to do here but visit, read and fish and I think that is the way the people want it. I will back again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautifil, relaxation if not on Whistle brige it can be with rushing waters and fishing and hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I would not go on opening day it can elbow to elbow they all line up and down the water to the river
waiting for the siren to sound to start, can be very crowded. I went in April, there were still alot of people there, so getting snagged by somebodys line still can cause frustration, but still enjoyable, you have to watch for trees that hang down by the water, but catching trout oh yes its awesome, even tho with some problems I will be coming back again. If you want to fish you have to have a park tag to fish, $2/3 for child/adult, but the hatchery is a good learning experience for the kids to see where they grow the fish, they release the fish every night, between Nov and Feb is catch and release you do not keep them, plus you are only limit to 4 a day and 8 in your possesion that is all even cannot fish for no other fish, even in the Niangua River. Conservation law, so read up before going.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hiking. ..fishing...and relaxing at bennett springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We love going to bennett springs. Its a cheap short trip...fishing permits are $2/3 for child/adult. It is stocked with trout every night so there is a chance for cstching fish...even if you are a novice. We stayed in the canins this trip...while the size was good they were not very clean.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great trout hatchery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The kids will have great fun looking at the trout hatchery, and the fishing can be good. At the Bennett Spring is very interesting to see the thousands of gallons of water coming up to feed this spring from an underwater cave.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett Spring State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bennett Spring State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett Spring State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.