We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dowd's Catfish and BBQ

Dowd's Catfish and BBQ
1760 W Elm St, Lebanon, MO 65536-3918
417-532-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Lebanon
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A very good place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

After visiting the Shepherd Hills Cutlery shop in Lebanon, continue on toward town on Elm. While on a previous visit, I was a bit disappointed with the pork loin, their catfish has always been quite good. Plus, they don't serve alcohol, which, being a non-drinker, I can do without.
The potato wedges are really good, the chicken strips are really good. It's a nice, family style atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped in Dowd's at the recommendation of the front desk of our hotel. It appeared to be a decent place from the exterior. Inside is very rustic and worn. After traveling for 11 hours we had hoped to have a wine or beer. They do not serve alchohol. I ordered the chopped bbq dinner. It was fatty and bits of grizzle throughout. Hubby had sliced pork bbq. He said it was just ok. Onion rings were good, fries were soso. The waitress was nice. We wont be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I went to this restaurant by recommendation of the hotel receptionist. The place was busy and I could tell the food was going to be good even before I ordered due to the numbers of local folks who knew each other. Good Fish!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the spicy fish sandwich and my wife had the stuffed baked potato with chopped brisket. I'm not sure I got the spicy variety, but it was still good. Four filets and nice toppings were more than I could get into the bun. My wife liked my fish and I liked her brisket a lot. I had the potato wedges which looked to be a whole potato cut into 3/4" x 3/4" monster fries. Nice cross between the deep fried outer crust of a fry and a baked potato. Seasoned with parmesan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good catfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Table Rock Lake from St. Louis. Although this restaurant is by no means amazing or a destination restaurant, it was a great place to stop mid-trip for a non-fast food lunch. The cat fish was really quite good and the service was friendly. The pulled pork BBQ sandwich was also tasty. Our daughter got the kids rib meal and although the ribs were a tad on the dry side, they were very flavorful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dowd's Catfish and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dowd's Catfish and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dowd's Catfish and BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.