We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great catfish, sides need work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dowd's Catfish and BBQ

Dowd's Catfish and BBQ
1760 W Elm St, Lebanon, MO 65536-3918
417-532-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Lebanon
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great catfish, sides need work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just as the title states, the sides are mediocre, otherwise I could rate this higher... I have been here a few times and tried various sides and been disappointed, especially since the catfish itself is great... Step your game up!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

very nice place in Lebanon, MO, right on Route 66. Excellent smoked BBQ ribs. Try also the fried pickles. The hospitality was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having grown up in an area with catfish as a regular part of the menu, I have pretty high standards. Many of the reviews and the numerous billboards in the area touted Dowds as having the best catfish in the area. The fist was coated and fried in the proper coating. However the coating was a little thick for my taste. The meals come with three sides. My fries had been cooked earlier and then had sat around for awhile and were cool and rubbery. The Cole Slaw was excellent and a side salad was passable. The service was quick. The clientele was mostly older. Overall it was okay, but nothing I would drive out of my way for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved the catfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had lunch there with a large group of guys after we floated the Niangua river. I had the catfish and was delighted I did - very tasty! With the slaw, fries & beans I had more than enough to eat. Very pleasant server who kept my drink refilled promptly, always a plus for me, even though there was 13 of us eating! Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Catfish House in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great food and great people. I always take my out of town business guests to Dowds for some "local" food. The catfish is great and reminds me of some of the best Fish Houses in Arkansas and futher south.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dowd's Catfish and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dowd's Catfish and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dowd's Catfish and BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.