We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience at Lake of the Ozarks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's at the Copper Pot

JJ's at the Copper Pot
630 N Main St, North Highway 5, Laurie, MO 65037
+1 573-374-8077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ's at the Copper Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Laurie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience at Lake of the Ozarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

It is worth the drive to the west side while visiting Lake of the Ozarks for the ultimate fine dining experience. The service was great on a very busy Saturday night. There is a nice lounge with dedicated servers while waiting for your table. The service was top notch with a knowledgable waitress about the items on the menu if you need assistance in making your decision. I selected the Filet Neptune with a baked potato, see pictures posted by iGrade for the presentation. It came with a family style house salad with three homemade dressing choices. The filet was served with asparagus, crab and lobster meet as a topping with bearnaise sauce over the top. Save room for dessert because the choices are incredible and all homemade. If you enjoy coffee after dinner then ask for the ultimate coffee experience where they brew it right at your table. This is the second time we have eaten here in the last couple of years, I shouldn't have waited so long to go back. I forgot how awesome of experience it is to eat here. The final touch was when the head chef introduced himself on the way out to make sure we enjoyed the food. You will want to make reservations because this is no longer a local secret, the word is out for this destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    15
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow.. very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unbelievable!! Best restaurant we have been to in a long time! The food and service was excellent! There house salad dressing is the best we have EVER had!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A mixed bag on a busy Saturday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had heard and read the reviews for this restaurant and thought this would be a wonderful place for our guests to eat. We live in Lake Ozark so the trek to Laurie is a bit of a jaunt at @30 minutes. Our reservations were at 7:30 PM on a Saturday and the place was full when we got there. Parking was tricky even with the extended parking below.

We were seated promptly in the right section of the place. This room had a wooden ceiling with four wooden walls making the room incredibly noisy. We practically needed to shout to each other just across the table. The other guests in the room didn't seem to mind the noise level, but it did affect our dining experience.

Service was slow, but for the number of people there, that's going to happen. Our dinner from entering to leaving took 2 hours. That's OK. We were not in a hurry.

Salad was interesting and good. A big bowl of salad with three choices of dressing. If you like ranch, italian or honey mustard you are in luck. If not, then you will need to make do. The bread was also good.

The dinner choices all looked delectable. My wife ordered the flaming skewers which sounded like they are flame-finished at the table. What we got was the waitress pouring something lit on a portion of her plate where the meat wasn't. Not much of a presentation. Her food was warm at best and my Copper Pot steak was cold. I ordered medium, but got very rare. One of our guests ordered the lobster mac and cheese. He has had this dish in other restaurants and told us that this didn't measure up. He was having trouble finding the lobster in his dish. His wife had the veal and she really enjoyed her meal. One out of four is not a good score.

All in all it was good and bad. We were expecting better meals and service though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravois Mills, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best food at the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

JJ's has the best food and wait staff at the lake. I think we have had everything on the menu and I would recommend everything depending on your mood and taste that evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, MO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went with about 50 others in our group. The service was excellent, prime rib, while smallish and thinish was excellent. We had an all inclusive meal but I was impressed with how fast we got served and hot food to boot. Salad dressing was great. Have eaten there once before because it's on the other side of the lake from us and the food was good and it is certainly the only place for fine dining in that area so kudos for filling a vacancy on that side of the lake!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's at the Copper Pot also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to JJ's at the Copper Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's at the Copper Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.