We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lamar

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Lamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Lamar
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   45 Southeast 1st Lane, Jct. US 71 and 160, Lamar, MO 64759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lamar
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have stayed in hotels and motels all over the world and have not found service anywhere--as good as is provided by Super 8 of Lamar, Missouri. The owners, Lon and Virginia Frieden provide service normally found in a five star facility. A most pleasurable experience. Jerry Shelton, San Clemente, CA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Owner at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
We enjoyed having you as our guest during the fair. It's always fun to have "hometown" people come visit and stay with us when they visit the area. Thank you so much for your response about your recent stay at the Super 8 on TripAdvisor! I appreciate all your kind comments about our Super 8 and appreciate your business very much. Hope to see you again soon.
Lon and Virginia Frieden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
51
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have spent nearly a month of evenings at the Super 8 in Lamar, MO over the past few years. Each and every evening spent at the Super 8 was like being welcomed home. The fact that we generally have several family members staying at the same time makes it a real family experience, but the staff and amenities of the Super 8 are welcoming and make you feel like family even if you're on your own.

Most recently we spent two days at the Super 8 and were thrilled with their evening fare as they supplied a great selection of finger foods beyond the popcorn. Their breakfast has expanded to include sausage, eggs, waffles, biscuits & gravy, in addition to fruit, muffins, scones and cereal. Truly a good value and very nice gathering area as the lobby was filled with guests, all of whom were enjoying the fare and the atmosphere.

All in all, Super 8 stays are always a lot of fun.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms exist with both internal and external entrances. For pool-side rooms, you must b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at our Super 8 in Lamar, Mo during our local fair. Fair time is always alot of fun and I'm glad you enjoyed our fair reception in the lobby as well as our weekend breakfast choices. We appreciate your business and your kind review of our property on TripAdvisor. I realize there are many lodging choices available to you and your family and am glad you continue to stay with us and allow us to be your motel of choice while in the area. We hope to see you again soon, and again, we greatly appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very nice, clean and an efficient place to stay for 3 days from August 4-7. Each room on main floor has walkout back door...so you can park your car right next to the room and unload. They served very good breakfast. Not to mention popcorn, juice and brownies served during the day. A quiet and comfortable place to stay. Staffs are friendly...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Super 8 in Lamar, Mo. while in the area. I know you having many lodging choices available and very much appreciate that you chose our Super 8 for your stay. Also, thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We take our guest reviews very seriously and use them as a tool to make each guest's stay as great as it can be. I hope you can stay with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your business, your review on TripAdvisor and your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The workers were wonderful to us and we enjoyed family time at the hotel. We were there for a wedding!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Super 8 during your trip to Lamar, Mo. for the wedding. We appreciate your business very much and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay. We take our guest reviews seriously and use them to try to make each guest's stay as great as possible. Also thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I hope you can stay with us in the future, and again, thank you for your business and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughes Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The cleanest most comfortable hotel that I've stayed in...ever. The pool was clean, and the workout room was nice. Great staff. Fresh breakfast with lots of options.I will be returning to this awesome place.

Room Tip: Fresh, clean and extemely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us. I appreciate your business very much. I also appreciate that you took the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We take our evaluations very seriously and use them to make each guest's stay as great as it can be. I hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have stayed here many times and each time the service is better, I have not found a better hotel to stay in during my trips to Missouri, I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers going to Lamar or anywhere close, Service is second to none.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing our Super 8 in Lamar, Mo. for your lodging needs! We appreciate your business very much and hope you will stay with us again soon. I'd also like to thank you for reviewing our motel on TripAdvisor and for all your kind comments about our property. We take our guest reviews to heart and use them to make each guest's stay as great as it can be. Again thank you for your review and for your business and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This Super 8 is always rated high and winning awards, and it is easy to see why. The rooms are always clean and well decorated. The food is plentiful and well prepared no matter if it's the wide variety they serve for breakfast, the tea during the day, the popcorn that's always replenished, the afternoon snacks, or the brownies in the evening. Most of all it's the people who are so good to you. If you need more towels, a roll-away bed, or more time on the weekends to eat breakfast, they are there for you. They always speak to you and ask how your day is going.
The hotel is easy to find and located near several places to eat that are easy to find. The pool is great and parking is always easy.
The only thing I wish they had were more rooms so more people could enjoy this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhost, Manager at Super 8 Lamar, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our Lamar Super 8 property on TripAdvisor. I very much appreciate that you choose our Super 8 to stay at when you are in the area. I realize you have many options available to you when you travel and appreciate your continued business. We take our guest reviews very seriously and use them to make every guest's stay as great as it can be. Thank you again for your business and your kind comments. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lamar

Address: 45 Southeast 1st Lane, Jct. US 71 and 160, Lamar, MO 64759
Location: United States > Missouri > Lamar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lamar 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Lamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.