We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice size suites.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Club Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Country Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Club Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Carol Road, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice size suites.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The junior suites are a nice size with plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Some of the furishings could use updating. The tv looked out of proportion for the size of the room you have. They have a nice size pool for you to get some downtime in. Overall this is still a great place for a off season weekend getaway and the rates were great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    17
    17
    22
See reviews for
23
37
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The staff member upon entrance was very nice (one lady) Check-in was smooth. But some large event was occurring and staff members totally ignored us on those nights-I was told by one lady she wasn't service staff , was off the clock and new- unwilling to give us information or point us in the right direction. We have encountered this kind of attitude before but not expected in such a low end hotel. Service should be their main goal. The wifi never worked but they said a tech was coming to fix it. Other then that, room (suite) were nice-but we needed extra pillows to stay comfortable. Not much to do, we tried the spa (but the hours are odd, due to the "season" we were told) We wanted a wine basket but were unable to purchase one from the hotel, we could only buy wine from the bar. They did offer room service, which was nice. Checkout easy as well, breakfast was okay for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

At first glace, it is obvious that this hotel was THE PLACE when it first opened. Unfortunately, overtime, needed upgrades to the furniture and property have not been made to keep it up-to-date, lowering the appeal of the hotel. For the most part, it is a great place with huge Jr. Suites, spa services, and affordable packages. However, the bedding seems to be the original bedspreads from the 70's or 80's and need to be burned. There are old school TV's and telephones in the bathroom (why?), and some of the decor suggests that a makeover is long overdue. With a little paint, furniture changes, and new bed spreads, this hotel could once again be ideal. Other perks include a cozy restaurant, a recreation area, and a pool with side whirlpool. Other cons, the pullout beds are NOT comfortable. On a final note, the walls are not very sound proof so pray to have quiet guest next door. As for me, I did not.
Would I stay there again? Certainly. Would I recommend it? Probably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 9 days and nights and found our Junior Suite to be the finest we have stayed in. We had a fridge, sink and comfortable kitchen bar, along with 3 phones and 2 TVs in the suite. Two sinks made morning preparations easier. The large bathroom was conveniently located and was kept immaculate by the housekeeping staff! Our king-sized bed was very comfortable each and every night. My favorite part of the Resort was the indoor, heated swimming pool. I used it nearly every day and enjoyed the hot tub after each swim to relax my muscles. The restaurant staff went above and beyond to meet all our wants and needs. We will definitely return to the Country Club Hotel & Spa for another stay!!!

Room Tip: When you choose a Jr. Suite, you will not be disappointed. The Hotel is easy to locate and has beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So the hotel may be a little old, but our room was clean and we had no problems. The staff was fantastic, especially the nice ladies at the front desk and the bartender Brian. The food at the restaurant was great. The pool was perfect for swimming laps in the morning. Overall it was a great stay, especially for the price. Would come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Country Club Hotel and Spa is old, tired, dated - but relatively clean. The Groupon, however, is a particularly poor deal. The Junior Suites do not have a view of the lake or the fall scenery (we looked out on the parking lot!). As for the dining credit for Rafferty's ... well, it's more a pub than a restaurant and the food isn't great. And Rafferty's is CLOSED on Sunday nights and Mondays - it would have been nice if this were mentioned on the Groupon or on the website.

To add insult to injury, the front desk made me go to the business centre to print out the Groupon (apparently showing them the app or a pdf was not good enough). Though this was a minor inconvenience, it really wasn't what we wanted to do after a long drive and tiring day.

I think the manager's earlier comments are accurate. The hotel clearly has a very limited budget for capital replacements/repairs, seeing as how most furnishings in the hotel look like they came from the 1980s or earlier. It feels as if they are (slowly) running this hotel into the ground.

STAY AWAY. If you're going to the Lake of the Ozarks, make the trip worth it and get a room with a view.

Room Tip: A room at another hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Olympic sized pool in glass room with leaks in the ceiling and windows. Parts of the windows duct taped. Actually rained on us when in the pool. Hot tub dirty. Rooms being worked on. Non-complete. We had a piece of new tile dropped into the bathroom floor, no mortar, no grout. New trim, not painted. Dirty floors. Room service nachos so cold the cheese not even melted. Yuck all the way around.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I appreciate the time you took to let us know about your experience at the Country Club Hotel. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and you were disappointed with our accommodations. You were correct that the rooms are being worked on but were not yet complete in May of 2012. This is a lengthy process and we continue to our improvement plan even now in October. As for your room service experience there is no excuse for cold food even as a room service. There have been changes made in the kitchen staff and I am confident if you were to give us another opportunity you would find the quality of the food has greatly improved. The situation of the pool solarium is still being addressed as we are having some difficulty identifying a solution that will fit into capitol budget funds at this time. Thank you again for your comments as we are always looking for feedback to identify areas where we need improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hotel & Spa

Address: 301 Carol Road, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel And Spa
Country Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel & Spa Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.