We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Getaway in Lake Ozark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxury Getaway in Lake Ozark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

For a luxurious, brief getaway in the Lake of the Ozarks, this is the place for you. The rooms used to be condos so ours had a kitchen with microwave, fridge, and stove with dishes and silverware, a living room with fake fireplace, surround sound TV, a bathroom with separate shower and tub and TV and a king bed in bedroom with TV and balcony facing out to the lake. They have room service with good food (my son recommends the bourbon burger), a morning coffee bar, and pool. A little expensive but that's ok. I wanted the amenities and expected to pay more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    59
    19
    21
    21
See reviews for
34
122
3
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just had a marvelous stay at Camden On The Lake Resort in July 2013. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and thoughtful. I was there for a business meeting. The food served during our meeting, i.e. breakfast and lunch was very tasty. It was so refreshing to see all the staff the entire time smiling, happy and eager to assist in any way. The adjoining restaurant was great. The food was very good. I enjoyed eating out on the terrace which overlooked the lake. The spacious suite I stayed in was simply a surprise and a dream. I really enjoyed having table and chairs outside on the terrace of the bedroom. I would sit there in the morning and evenings to relax and watch the lake. There's a fun restaurant bar with live entertainment a half mile away which can be seen from the Camden resort. There's a great gift shop inside Camden that I found fun. Since, I've returned home I have told so many people of my wonderful stay at Camden On The Lake. I can't wait to go back next year on my own and I plan to stay longer.
I couldn't tell trip advisor fast enough about my wonderful time at Camden on The Lake Resort. Tonya

Room Tip: This is truly a relaxing, vacation spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our accommodations were clean and very comfortable. H. Toads Bar and Grill is high energy but still manages to serve great food . It is a busy and popular spot. Wait staff is fab...eager to make your stay pleasant ! We were lucky enough to have Michelle serve us both days of our stay....she will put a smile on your face! Try to snag a table on the deck and watch the band/festivities on the lower level with a great view of the lake!

Room Tip: There is live music on the weekends. If that is a problem be sure to ask for a room that does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our last time to visit Camden on the Lake. Here's why.....We went down for a quick 1 day trip (Fri-Sat) and wanted to stay and the nicest, most inclusive, place we could find given our limited time. We're in our early 30's and have two kids. We were looking for a night away from the kids where we could sit by a pool, have some drinks, and get some sun.

We arrived around Noon, our check-in time was 4pm. We asked for a first available room so we could get in earlier, and one never came up. Apparently, they truly need every minute from 11am to 4pm to clean the rooms as we also couldn't get a late check-out when requested either. The receptionist, when we came in, was mouthing off to a customer over the phone, who was simply looking for a room in a full hotel, and felt her sarcasm was pretty humorous when she got off the line. We felt it disrespectful and out of line.

So, to kick things off while "roomless", we went to the pool, it was overcast and sprinkling out. Pool + Bar = Closed. Regardless of the bar and most of the pool being covered it was closed for weather. We asked why and were advised they simply didn't have enough interest to open them given the weather. So I guess people need to sit at the empty bars to promote the resort opening them? We walked over to the dock bar (covered), closed. Stage bar (not-covered), closed. The only place to go was the 3rd floor bar and grill. Thus, no room and no entertainment. We had lunch and a drink on the 3rd floor and then left the property, not coming back until 8pm. The band was going by then, and regardless of having the furthest-most lakefront room from the stage, the band was unbelievably loud and went until after midnight. Thus, no sleep.

Next day was perfect, weather-wise, the pool/bar, dock and stage bars were still closed at 10am so we got sick of waiting, checked out, and rented a boat from the dock. We came back around 1pm and the 20 or so pool seats in the sunshine were taken. Again, most of the pool is in the shade, the water was ridiculously cloudy, and they blast club house music over the PA, so we chose not to stay there. The dock bar and stage bar were STILL closed at 1pm, so again, we're back to sitting in the 3rd floor bar. Finally, to actually get some sun, we got drinks from the pool bar, sat at the end of the dock, and boat watched. Not exactly the comfort and quiet we were looking for, but the best we found around the property. Oh, and if you ask for a specific liquor in your drink, you get the generic. We asked for 7/7 and Meyer's/diet, neither arrived as requested.

This place is like Panama City Beach at the lake. No water in the fridge, just red bull. 70's rock blasting from the stage all night and night club music blasting from the pool in the day (when they finally open it). No dock seating, no water level bars open for most the time, pool's gross, about 20 seats in the sunlight amongst the entire property. So what did we get? No use of the property on Friday at all and Saturday I spent and extra (unexpected) $300 on a boat just to get some sun and have something to do, because nothing on the property was available.

So why did I even give it a 2?

The rooms are nice, well kept, and pretty luxurious, but the balcony WAS covered in spiders. Seems the cleaning crew could wipe down the balconies while they're at it, but you could tell they hadn't done that for our room in some time, so of course my wife had little/no interest in the balcony.

Simply not the relaxation we thought we were getting. Far more work than expected to simply find entertainment, and for the high price, not at all worth it. Too expensive for the lake. They have the right idea going here....but the execution is terrible and we will not be back.

Room Tip: Lakefront is actually dock front, so if you want a view, request the top floor (6th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were upgraded to the executive king which was an awesome surprise ... The room was beautiful and huge! The view from the balcony was spectacular. With the exception of the error on our bill due to the upgrade... We loved the wonderful accommodations ! Credit has been refunded and all is well. Wish our dinner at H Toads had been as tasty as we expected. They were super busy July 20....we ll try again next time we visit . The waitress was 4 star though!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms at the hotel are 2nd to none. I would recommend staying in the rooms with a view of the lake as it is a beautiful view. The swim up pool bar is a nice place to relax provided the party animals behave. On one of the days we watched as a drunk female puked several times on the bar only to continue to be served, while her friends got onto the bar and did belly flops and back flips into the pool. Can you say law suit should someone get seriously hurt? The staff just ignored what was happening and continued to serve them, we eventually just left. Outside of that one experience this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonville, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was the first time any of my group had been here. We loved the room, the facility and food. It is a great entertainment place for the weekends and during the week it slowed some but the employees still made us their top priority. I will highly recommend this facility to anyone that ask about a place on the lake. It is close (10 minutes) to most anything you would want or need and it is very easy to find. H Toad is connected and the Shady Gator is across the cove if you are interested in entertainment. Camden on the Lake has rentals for lake toys right there at their location, a wonderful outdoor pool and double hot tub area over looking the lake. Plenty of rooms overlooking the lake with a patio to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms to over look the lake if that is your preference. If you choose this and sit on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.