We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think a bit about your room location & consider for conferences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Up to 50% Now!
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Think a bit about your room location & consider for conferences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice property but I do want to caution you that during the summer there are outdoor concerts at H. Toads, the adjacent pub/restaurant. The noise will chiefly affect those with lake views on the east-most end of the building. They do a pretty good job of noise-proofing the rooms with quality glass and good drapes but still, room location is a consideration. When booking, inquire about scheduled concerts.

Also, just FYI, on the farthest west end of the building, there are two rooms on each floor with wrap-around balconies. This is a big plus. Next trip, I am trying for one of those. Actually, since the property is at the end of a peninsula, a parking-lot facing room with a wrap-around balcony would be ideal - it would still have a great view of the lake but be immune to concert noise.

Oh, and you can tell by the fact that I am making plans for my next trip that I like the place. I do. It is very spacious, well-appointed, and well-kept. The high-end kitchen is a big plus. (No oven, though, but this is not a show stopper for me.)

Also, I should mention that the 6th floor seems to be the most luxe. If you could get a 6th floor room at a 5th floor price, that would be a score.

The hotel is truly at the end of a peninsula so there is a 10 minute drive to the main road. But there is a convenience store close and plenty of restaurants nearby.

This is an ideal place for a small conference of 100 to 200 people. Good meeting rooms and catering.

Myself, I think the lake is most relaxing before and after "the season" -- before Memorial Day and after Labor Day -- but that is just my low-key taste. Yours may be different.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion of our property! You are correct that the atmosphere differs during the summer season, and we do our best to accommodate everyone during the busy and ultimately noisy time of the year. The tips you provided should be very helpful to future guests and we really appreciate the fact that you will be returning to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    49
    16
    17
    19
See reviews for
30
89
2
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I expected an ordinary hotel room. What I got was a condo! It included a kitchen fully stocked with cookware and full table settings for four. The kitchen included a cooktop, microwave, refrigerator and full-sized dishwasher. The unit also had a washer/dryer. Internet was free of cost. Flat screens are in the living room and bathroom. Some units have a jetted tub. If you want to hear the music and see beautifu sunrises, ask for a room facing the lake. If you would rather have the afternoon sun, ask for a unit facing the parking lot. Fitness room was well equipped with new equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 5th and 6th floors for the best views. Visit their web site for pictures of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our resort and for the tips your provided for future guests. There is no better advertisement than comments from the public, and we appreciate you taking the time to share yours with everyone. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the last weekend in March here. Everything was great! The lake view and wonderful restaurant service were only surpassed by the very helpful Tina and Lilly at the front desk! Although we have plans to bring family and friends here for this summer's boating season, we will plan to enjoy this location during the off-season as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed our property and are planning to return. We will make sure that Tina and Lilly are made aware of your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Came in the off season specifically for couple's R and R. We stayed in room 601 and it was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the three TVs and fireplace. Bed was very comfortable. Staff knew we were coming for a birthday and offered some free drink coupons. The room service could certainly be improved. More options would be great.

Bar left something to be desired, but it is late March. Locals smoking (Nobody in KC has smoking bars. What YEAR is it? Gross.) We went to the bar and wanted an appetizer while we had a drink. Asked when kitchen closes and response was "10:00 and its 10:01, sorry". That seemed a little rude. You're not going to offer a basket of chips and some salsa? Not very customer savvy.

I'm not sure what some low-rating reviewers are crying about. This is clearly a party destination in the summer months and it clearly marketed as such. You're an idiot for bringing you baby, kids, dog, elderly loved one, etc. Head to Tan-Tar-A or the Lodge if you want something more low key. The food is probably better anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our resort. We consider customer feedback to be a valuable tool in managing a facility such as ours, and your comments will be the topic of discussion at one of our weekly staff meetings. Changes to policy and procedures will come from these discussions as we address issues such as the ones you have brought to our attention. We hope you will try our resort again and let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel, our room was absolutely fabulous. It was so much more than we expected. A fabulous view, a TV in the bathroom (who would have thought of that), beautiful cream carpets, kitchenette, great big comfortable bed, fab shower....... The staff were really nice and friendly. We ate in the H.Toad which was very good. Great service. We stayed out of season so the hotel and restaurant were very quiet, I suspect things might be a little different in the summer months. This hotel was excellent value for money, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We did not have a top price room but it was still fabulous, we were shown one of the top rooms and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are extremely pleased that the facility and level of service met you expectations. We will continue to work hard at maintaining this high level of quality and value. Please come and visit us again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived the afternoon before an all day Bar Assn. conference. I went for business, my wife for a day of R&R. Although I had seen the website, I was unprepared for how nice the facilities actually were. The suite was large and comfortable; as nice or nicer than suites in the top resorts in Jamaica. The outdoor amenities were closed or scaled down for the off season. We noted that this is a place to return to this summer. The remote control for the TV in the bathroom (yes bathroom) was missing. The lady from housekeeping who brought a replacement was most pleasant and helpful. She spent a great deal of time explaining the features of the suite and resort. We found her to be a joy and crdit to the staff. The resort was next to H. Toad's restaurant where good meals and a lively lounge could be found.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have better views, but you really can's go wrong anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at our resort, and thank you for writing about your experience. We read these reviews at our weekly staff meetings and any employee mentioned is made aware our your comments. Thank you and we hope you will choose our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk. We were able to upgrade to a Jaccuzzi suite. The room was long and we over looked the lake. Much to our surprise there was a kitchenette, tub and tiled shower, not to mention a washer & dryer - this came in very handy for drying our swimsuits after a dip in the hot tub. The king size bed had nice linens. The queen fold out was less than stellar. The mattress for it was pure springs, leaving our 10 year old to crawl into our bed. We requested another mattress, they doubled it. Still a bit springy, but at least he wasn't sleeping on the fold out bars. We attended a conferenc here, the facilites were extremely nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review of your stay at our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the rooms. Please accept our apology for the quality of the hide-a-bed mattress. We are researching alternatives to provide a higher quality portable bed and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark
Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club to your Saves list