We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Las Tablas, Panama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived the afternoon before an all day Bar Assn. conference. I went for business, my wife for a day of R&R. Although I had seen the website, I was unprepared for how nice the facilities actually were. The suite was large and comfortable; as nice or nicer than suites in the top resorts in Jamaica. The outdoor amenities were closed or scaled down for the off season. We noted that this is a place to return to this summer. The remote control for the TV in the bathroom (yes bathroom) was missing. The lady from housekeeping who brought a replacement was most pleasant and helpful. She spent a great deal of time explaining the features of the suite and resort. We found her to be a joy and crdit to the staff. The resort was next to H. Toad's restaurant where good meals and a lively lounge could be found.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have better views, but you really can's go wrong anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at our resort, and thank you for writing about your experience. We read these reviews at our weekly staff meetings and any employee mentioned is made aware our your comments. Thank you and we hope you will choose our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    59
    19
    21
    21
See reviews for
34
122
3
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk. We were able to upgrade to a Jaccuzzi suite. The room was long and we over looked the lake. Much to our surprise there was a kitchenette, tub and tiled shower, not to mention a washer & dryer - this came in very handy for drying our swimsuits after a dip in the hot tub. The king size bed had nice linens. The queen fold out was less than stellar. The mattress for it was pure springs, leaving our 10 year old to crawl into our bed. We requested another mattress, they doubled it. Still a bit springy, but at least he wasn't sleeping on the fold out bars. We attended a conferenc here, the facilites were extremely nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review of your stay at our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the rooms. Please accept our apology for the quality of the hide-a-bed mattress. We are researching alternatives to provide a higher quality portable bed and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning. Very warm and welcoming! The rooms have very comfortable beds, large flat-screen TV's, plush carpeting, and eye-catching decor. If you select a room with a "lake front view", you will not be disappointed. The view is incredible and offers a stunning sunset on most evenings. If you are staying during the summer months, be careful with room selection because the bands can play late in to the evening. If you want to get some rest after 2:00am, ask for a room on the west end of the hotel. The pool is cleaned daily and has both sunny and shady spots. It is also fun for the kiddos! If you like to have a cocktail there is a swim-up pool bar, and three more bars on the property attached to the H.Toad's restaurant. This brings me to the food... delicious! They take a lot of pride in their presentation, but the service is a weak spot. There are a few waitresses that have been there for years so if you get one of these, enjoy! If you get a new server, be patient! All-in-all, it's a wonderful place to stay at all times of the year!

Room Tip: Be specific when scheduling. Specify if you want a lake view or a room that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the wonderful review of our entire complex. Reading your comments at our weekly staff meeting was truly enjoyable and we will concentrate on bringing our newer servers up to a higher level of competence. We hope that you will return again to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Louis,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first retreat out of town and it was simply fantastic. Bonnie and her staff were wonderful. The staff made sure all of the details discussed before hand were taken care of. If we had need of anything else while we were there, they were very accomadating. My couples enjoyed themselves so much they can't wait to come back next year. My wife wants to come back during the summer so the children can enjoy the boating and all of the other outdoor activities the lake and the other attractions in the area have to offer.

Min. C. Robinson

Room Tip: We were in a grand King bed suit. It was wonderful with a view of the lake. It was at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience during your couples retreat. We thoroughly enjoyed serving your group and are so pleased that everything went as planned. We hope that you will consider our resort for your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel, Spa and Horny Toad restaurant were awesome. Hotel room and bed were heavenly. Spa facial and massage were amazing. Restaurant food and staff we great! This was my second time here and I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review of our entire property! We appreciate the kind words and will work to maintain the highest level of customer service. We can't wait for your 3rd visit to Camden on the Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were looking for a little get away and got the perfect one. The staff was VERY helpful, the room was great. Fire place, kitchen, huge bed, big bathroom with a tv in it!. Great view from the balcony. Hotel is connected to Horny Toads bar which was perfect to not get out in the nasty cold! Bartender stayed till close even with our small crowd that Friday night. Saturday night was busier and I heard her say Sunday night there was a band. Fitness room was small but adequate. All in all I would definately go back!

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for a suite with a lake view...definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our resort! We are so pleased that we were able to provide "Exactly what you needed". We will continue to work hard at pleasing our guests and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stumbled up on this resort 4 years ago. We returned this past weekend and somehow received the very same room! First, I must say thank you to the responses we received through emails and upon arrivals. I had questions and responses were not ignored. We love the room and the amenities offered with it. Comfort and relaxation is what it has for us. We were well aware of the pub crawl one night of our stay. We did experience loud talking, laughing, hall parties and probably crawling by some to their rooms. It lasted a good while in the early morning hours. We finally got back to sleep. Otherwise, our stay was great. We visited local restaurants and was surprised by all the city improvements and services that have been added since our last visit. Visiting here is quite a nice get away for us and we'll be back again, just not during the pub crawl weekend:).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our resort and what a coincidence that you got the same room as your last visit. We do try to let our guests know in advance when there are special events going on, such as the Pub Crawl, and I'm glad that you were not too disturbed. We will continue to work hard at earning your business and will lokk forwrd to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.