We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples 4 Christ Marriage Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Up to 50% Now!
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
St-Louis,
1 review
“Couples 4 Christ Marriage Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first retreat out of town and it was simply fantastic. Bonnie and her staff were wonderful. The staff made sure all of the details discussed before hand were taken care of. If we had need of anything else while we were there, they were very accomadating. My couples enjoyed themselves so much they can't wait to come back next year. My wife wants to come back during the summer so the children can enjoy the boating and all of the other outdoor activities the lake and the other attractions in the area have to offer.

Min. C. Robinson

Room Tip: We were in a grand King bed suit. It was wonderful with a view of the lake. It was at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience during your couples retreat. We thoroughly enjoyed serving your group and are so pleased that everything went as planned. We hope that you will consider our resort for your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    55
    18
    21
    20
See reviews for
33
108
3
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardner
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel, Spa and Horny Toad restaurant were awesome. Hotel room and bed were heavenly. Spa facial and massage were amazing. Restaurant food and staff we great! This was my second time here and I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review of our entire property! We appreciate the kind words and will work to maintain the highest level of customer service. We can't wait for your 3rd visit to Camden on the Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were looking for a little get away and got the perfect one. The staff was VERY helpful, the room was great. Fire place, kitchen, huge bed, big bathroom with a tv in it!. Great view from the balcony. Hotel is connected to Horny Toads bar which was perfect to not get out in the nasty cold! Bartender stayed till close even with our small crowd that Friday night. Saturday night was busier and I heard her say Sunday night there was a band. Fitness room was small but adequate. All in all I would definately go back!

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for a suite with a lake view...definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our resort! We are so pleased that we were able to provide "Exactly what you needed". We will continue to work hard at pleasing our guests and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stumbled up on this resort 4 years ago. We returned this past weekend and somehow received the very same room! First, I must say thank you to the responses we received through emails and upon arrivals. I had questions and responses were not ignored. We love the room and the amenities offered with it. Comfort and relaxation is what it has for us. We were well aware of the pub crawl one night of our stay. We did experience loud talking, laughing, hall parties and probably crawling by some to their rooms. It lasted a good while in the early morning hours. We finally got back to sleep. Otherwise, our stay was great. We visited local restaurants and was surprised by all the city improvements and services that have been added since our last visit. Visiting here is quite a nice get away for us and we'll be back again, just not during the pub crawl weekend:).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our resort and what a coincidence that you got the same room as your last visit. We do try to let our guests know in advance when there are special events going on, such as the Pub Crawl, and I'm glad that you were not too disturbed. We will continue to work hard at earning your business and will lokk forwrd to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for her birthday over President's Day weekend 2013. We stayed in the 1-bedroom suite that was huge. It has a full kitchen, sitting area, balcony, and large bath. The decor is modern, new and refined. The Aveda Spa was great! We would totally stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Camden on the Lake Resort. We are so glad that you enjopyed your stay with us and will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Originally we were quoted $125/night but arrived to find it was $149 + $50/night for our little dog = $199! This was January ( the off season)and the spa was closed, there was no pool, and no breakfast. We were charged $6 each for a reheated donut & coffee in the lobby! We ate it because that was all there was....

The rooms we were offered were both very dirty. We were given Rm 410 on arrival & the carpet had large areas of sticky brown liquid spilt. We were the only ones on that floor of the hotel, so asked to be moved to a) a clean room, and b) a room looking at the water & marina instead of looking at the parking lot. We were told it would cost $30/night more to be on the marina side with a view of the lake. So we took Room 407 again looking out at the parking lot, but it was dirty too. We cleaned the toothpaste off the doors and mirrors in the bathroom, cleaned the walls around the kitchenette covered in food residue, cleaned the stovetop and cleaned the pots, dishes and glasses which had all been put away dirty. Our dog found and brought out items from around the bed: papers, a bottlecap and deodorant. The safe was non-functioning and the hook on the back of the bathroom door was broken off and left on the counter. Even the next day it seemed there were only 2 or 3 rooms taken in the entire hotel and we confirmed that there was no-one else on our entire floor. Why we couldn't have a room to at least look out at the water was beyond me.

The rooms with marble baths and high ceilings aspire to elegance, and look impressive on first sight, but they are not well maintained and Overpriced. I don't know what previous reviewer J W was talking about - we didn't see the things he mentions. There was little to do, and we were there for 2 nights with spa closed and no indoor pool. Even the hotel shop was closed. The outdoor pool was drained and empty. I sat in the outdoor hot tub briefly but it was lukewarm.There is no decent restaurant - just a sports bar with big blaring TV screens, & a pub menu. There were a few local guys watching TV sports, shouting at the screen and drinking. We tried to ignore them as we drank our bottle of overpriced wine and had our mediocre dinner, and went back to our room. Not the romantic getaway we had imagined!

The location is beautiful. And this place has such potential. It was obviously built to try to pull in the luxury market, but the owner(s) are just not making an effort.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 4th floor that look out onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you mention, and our front desk manager has contacted you directly to offer you a refund. Your review was the topic of a recent staff meeting and changes will be implemented in many areas you described, with the exception of the indoor pool. We hope you will visit us again and witness a notable improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was perfect! From the kitchen, to the surround sound, to the in-room washer and dryer, and my kids favorite the DVD player the room was great! It was a bit off the beaten path but close enough to restaurants and shopping and you can't beat the views.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to work hard at pleasing our guests. Please visit us again in the near furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.