We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Savings Rates
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Originally we were quoted $125/night but arrived to find it was $149 + $50/night for our little dog = $199! This was January ( the off season)and the spa was closed, there was no pool, and no breakfast. We were charged $6 each for a reheated donut & coffee in the lobby! We ate it because that was all there was....

The rooms we were offered were both very dirty. We were given Rm 410 on arrival & the carpet had large areas of sticky brown liquid spilt. We were the only ones on that floor of the hotel, so asked to be moved to a) a clean room, and b) a room looking at the water & marina instead of looking at the parking lot. We were told it would cost $30/night more to be on the marina side with a view of the lake. So we took Room 407 again looking out at the parking lot, but it was dirty too. We cleaned the toothpaste off the doors and mirrors in the bathroom, cleaned the walls around the kitchenette covered in food residue, cleaned the stovetop and cleaned the pots, dishes and glasses which had all been put away dirty. Our dog found and brought out items from around the bed: papers, a bottlecap and deodorant. The safe was non-functioning and the hook on the back of the bathroom door was broken off and left on the counter. Even the next day it seemed there were only 2 or 3 rooms taken in the entire hotel and we confirmed that there was no-one else on our entire floor. Why we couldn't have a room to at least look out at the water was beyond me.

The rooms with marble baths and high ceilings aspire to elegance, and look impressive on first sight, but they are not well maintained and Overpriced. I don't know what previous reviewer J W was talking about - we didn't see the things he mentions. There was little to do, and we were there for 2 nights with spa closed and no indoor pool. Even the hotel shop was closed. The outdoor pool was drained and empty. I sat in the outdoor hot tub briefly but it was lukewarm.There is no decent restaurant - just a sports bar with big blaring TV screens, & a pub menu. There were a few local guys watching TV sports, shouting at the screen and drinking. We tried to ignore them as we drank our bottle of overpriced wine and had our mediocre dinner, and went back to our room. Not the romantic getaway we had imagined!

The location is beautiful. And this place has such potential. It was obviously built to try to pull in the luxury market, but the owner(s) are just not making an effort.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 4th floor that look out onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you mention, and our front desk manager has contacted you directly to offer you a refund. Your review was the topic of a recent staff meeting and changes will be implemented in many areas you described, with the exception of the indoor pool. We hope you will visit us again and witness a notable improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    70
    26
    25
    24
See reviews for
44
146
3
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel room was perfect! From the kitchen, to the surround sound, to the in-room washer and dryer, and my kids favorite the DVD player the room was great! It was a bit off the beaten path but close enough to restaurants and shopping and you can't beat the views.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to work hard at pleasing our guests. Please visit us again in the near furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My new husband and I wanted to take a few days after our wedding to relax and take it easy. This was the perfect place! The view was amazing, the room was beautiful and relaxing, and the whole experience was great!

Thank you so much for giving us a great honeymoon weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax. Congratulations on your wedding and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Would stay again. Definitely recommend property. Very clean/quiet. Nearly new appearance. As frequent travelers-one of the nicest rooms we've stayed in. Helpful friendly staff. Worth the price paid. Pool closed in winter/outdoor hot tub open. Nice on-site restaurants, retail shop, large reception halls, guest theater room, pool table, gym, spa, vending/ice machines. Daily maid service even though room set-up is condo-style. 6 floors. Lake surrounds property. Beautiful view. Good road to property. Free parking. 15 minutes to Osage Beach-outlet mall shops, restaurants. Rented one bedroom suite. Very spacious-tile entry and kitchen, mini-fridge, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher, dinnerware, bar stooled eating area; carpeted living area-sofa sleeper, lamp/sofa tables/TV; large tiled floor bathroom, large glass/tile shower-two shower heads, nice sink area/counterspace; hallway closet for hangup clothes, closet with washer/dryer; carpeted bedroom. Doors close to separate bedroom. King-size bed, TV, dresser, lamp tables, ceiling fan, outside balcony deck-two chairs overlooking lake.

Room Tip: South rooms-sunny balcony decks. North rooms-shady decks-great lake views. West corner rooms-some wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking to time to write such a wonderful review and discription of our resort. We appreciate your recommendation and will continue to work hard at our commitment to customer satisfaction. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend suprised me with a weekend here in September, I had to drive and had no idea where i was, kinda freaked out when we were pulling in and there were thousands of bikers blocking the streets, bouncers in the road, and pay for parking. But when we finally found the entrance to the hotel amid all the people, i was completely floored. We were right on the lake! It was beautiful, and because of the Bike fest, the hotel was practically empty except a bunch of (what turned out to be) really fun people to party with! Bikers! There were no Kids there, we had Both amazing hot tuns and outdoor heated pools to our selves. Theres no other time i remember being more relaxed than sitting in that outdoor heated hot tub with a waterfall, on that misty cool september night staring at the moon light bouncing off the pitch black lake's waves with a boulevard wheat in my hand and listening to classic rock covers coming from H. Toads! Best night ever

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your weekend at Camden on the Lake. We are so happy that you enjoyed our resort and were able to relax among the crowd for the annual Bike Fest. We will continue to work hard at earning your business. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The room was excellent. The front desk at check-in saved us $300 on our stay because he knew about a New Year's promotion. As a newly married couple, this was greatly appreciated.

The reviews I had read had mentioned noise problems so I requested a room away from the bar area. This was more than adequate to eliminate noise even from the live band on New Year's Eve.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from bar are quieter. Rooms on lake side have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Resort. We are so pleased that you chose us for your Honeymoon, and we are glad the desk agent gave you the special rate. Please think of us for your future special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was great. Nice, clean, big with a nice view! Off season so it was really quiet which is what I was looking for. The spa 54 was superb!! Great services and fair prices! Food at H Toads was really good.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite was great. Large and had marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your visit to our Resort. From your comments, it appears that you enjoyed your stay with us so we can only assume that your rating of 1 star was an error.

Please let us know if this was not the case as we would appreciate knowing of any areas that did not meet your satisfaction. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Country Club Hotel & Spa
#12 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
7.9 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Osage Beach
9.2 mi away
Lake Breeze Resort
Lake Breeze Resort
#2 of 4 in Camdenton
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club

Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.