We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
1200 South Kirkwood Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkwood
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not what was advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were on the road looking for a chain that would give us predictable quality. This was not the case. It was advertised as being in the historic district - actually it was just adjacent to a run down neighborhood. You did not want to go off the property after dark, it didn't feel safe.

The rooms were below Best Western's normal quality - not sure if the hotel is just in need of an update or what. There are a number of other options in the area that would be better choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Bill,
We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and product quality, and we are very sorry that we did not meet, nor exceed your expectations. I would hope that you would give us the opportunity to provide you with a vastly improved experience on your next visit to the St. Louis area.
Cynthia L. Brasseur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
81
45
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We picked this place for the location and that worked well. The place was clean, located in close proximity to.....long list....Dunkin Donuts, Chilis, White Castle, Walmart, Target, Lowes, Sports Authority and many others. Parking was ample, easy in and out surface lot. There is an attached Chilis Restaurant and a on site bar. We were in room 200 which was right by the elevators and thus a bit noisy but again typical. Located by the interstate so a quick exit to anywhere in town is guaranteed. Price was average for a big city hotel so no complaints there. This is not a NEW property and some of the place is a bit tired but again it was clean and not shabby. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 200 if you are a light sleeper.......elevator close by and it shares a wall with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We appreciate the review from our good neighbor in Louisville, KY. We frequently are told that folks enjoy our hotel for the location due to the convenience of restaurants and shopping that you mentioned. Added that we are centrally located in St. Louis makes getting to any attraction quite simple. Thank you for your custom and hope to see you again!
Cynthia Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wister, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

So thankful I found this diamond in the cavernous city known as St Louis! What a great hotel! The staff was some of the most courteous and helpful I have ever encountered! My room was very clean and accommodating and everything I could have ever hoped for! Considering everything that was offered at the hotel i.e., the continental breakfast, fitness center and the hotel bar not to mention Chilli's this place was a steal for what I got the room for! King size bed, very spacious and a mini balcony so that I could step out for a breath of fresh air and not have to leave my room! I am very thankful for finding the Best Western in Kirkwood! I can assure you that I will definitely be back! Thanks for a wonderful stay and I look forward to coming back in the near future!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for completing a review on your stay with us! We are so very happy you found us. Your comments echo those from our repeat guests. We truly enjoy making a memory for every individual who stays with us. We look forward to being of service on your next trip to St. Louis.
Cynthia L. Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This room is outrageously priced. It is average in size, with a small bathroom. The shower had mold in the grout, and there was dust under the bed and in the closet. The staff was polite but not friendly, and did not offer any information without being asked specifically. The breakfast was standard extended continental, nothing special. There were restaurants and stores nearby, but this does not make a hotel "conveniently located, " more than any other. Way overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Find a less expensive hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Any and all feedback is important in our business and I truly appreciate the time you took to post your experience at our hotel. We endeavor to provide the absolute best in customer service and product quality and will use your observations to help guide our improvements.
Most Sincerely,
Cynthia L. Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Best Western is situated in a nice shopping center with a chain steak restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Dunkin Doughnuts, Target, and other various restaurants and stores. I think what first turned me off to this establishment was the welcoming or lack there of upon entering the hotel. It really seemed as though my traveling companion and I were putting each of the three ladies we interacted with over our two day stay out of their way. We had booked online and had been guaranteed king bed rooms however they said they weren't available and refused to even check our paper work. It was nice that there was a Chili's attached and a bar, however the bar did not look like that pleasantly lit establishment that is pictured in the photo section. It seemed run down and dirty. All vending machines were awkwardly shoved into weird corners on each hall's floor. The "fitness center" were the three machines pictured in the travelers photo's shoved into a muggy room with the washer/dryer. One of the three, the treadmill was broken when I was there. The rooms were clean with the advertised "clean remote" where they dip the remote in cleaning solution to make sure you have a clean one each day. However the room looked worn down as if it needed updating, and thus didn't feel clean. The bathrooms were not updated whatsoever and the shower had the white soap/lime scale buildup on the fixtures and walls. That and the included gross rubber mat to put in the tub did not present a clean feel. I honestly didn't shower because I felt it would be counter productive. There were also flies everywhere. They did have a wide selection of cable television which is nice seeing as a lot of hotels have the direct tv service that either loses channels or gets fuzzy with rain. The internet was average, (not home speeds but not typical slow hotel speed), which is important to me as a business traveler. I checked out the free breakfast the following day but opted to go to the Dunkin Doughnuts in the parking lot as the offering wasn't anything special and there weren't really any healthy options. The low rating is representative of my stay, but the other reviews seem to indicate that my experience was a fluke, (everyone has a bad day right?), and that you can expect a better one. Best Western's new re-branding of being regular, plus, and premier really seems to be random and non-standardized. I will most likely not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you, truly, for your candid review of your recent stay. It disappoints me greatly that we failed to provide the high level of product quality and customer service in which we pride ourselves. Please accept my deepest apologies along with my assurances that your comments will be shared with our entire management staff and corrective action taken immediately.

I hope you will offer us the opportunity to provide you with an improved experience on your next visit to our area. We appreciate your loyalty to our BEST WESTERN brand.

Cynthia Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel, clean bed, even a clean remote. The night employee went above and beyond to assist us. He was so friendly and put us at ease after we had fled downtown as there were no rooms and too many drunk people on the streets. This is a good location as far as "stores & restaurants" nearby. Coffee, Target, Chipotle, Chillis etc. A little Far from downtown St Louis but very safe feeling.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We so appreciate your sharing your experience at our property, and your complimentary comments about the service Bryant Constant provided. He takes personal pride in providing the best of customer service - as do we all here at the BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn. Thank you also for pointing out our dedication to being the cleanest hotel in the St. Louis. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Cynthia Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been on a two week road trip, staying mostly at BW hotels along the way.....this hotel was fine and the staff friendly and attentive. It was nice that there is a Chili's restaurant attached but we didn't know it until we got there and had already eaten:( LOTS of restaurants close by to choose from. Relatively clean and nice size rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides overlook restaurants and mall parking lot....Don't think one side is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbrasseur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn. We hope you enjoyed your stay and visit to St. Louis.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our BEST WESTERN brand.

Cynthia Brasseur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn

Address: 1200 South Kirkwood Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkwood Hotel Kirkwood
Best Western Saint Louis
Saint Louis Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn MO - Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.