We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Provencal

Cafe Provencal
427 S Kirkwood Rd, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122-6119
314 822 5440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went for lunch. Food was good. Sandwiches ($12) include delicious fries (thin cut w/ herbs). Nice outdoor seating, although view of parking lot. Quiet, relaxing environment. Service was very good. Too expensive for regular lunch stop but there was enough food leftover for dinner that night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Nice spot for girls' lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My mother and I were looking for a quiet place to have a nice lunch. Cafe Provencal was perfect. The fries were delicious, as were our sandwiches. I ordered the Croque Madame ($12) which had ham, melted cheese, a fried egg and mornay sauce. My mother ordered the burger ($12). Both came with thin cut fries with herbs sprinkled on top (perhaps Herbs de Provence?) The rolls were also delicious - a mix between fresh, soft bread and pretzel. It was too hot to sit outside, but they have quite a few seats and we plan to return when temperatures cool a little. Prices are higher than we ordinarily pay for lunch and I couldn't afford it on a regular basis (like we do Bread Company!) but it was a nice change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Still a Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This will be a short review. Generally excellent in all areas: service, menu, preparation, drinks, ambience. ONE SUGGESTION TO MANAGEMENT: Put some pads on the chairs. I found the chairs to be quite uncomfortable, maybe because we sat and ate and talked (two couples) for almost 3 hours. Maybe hard chairs is management's way of saying "We've got to turn the tables." Minor complaint, though. All in all, an enjoyable evening and beautifully prepared meals. ONE MORE SUGGESTION: Get a better array of bourbons. You've got to go beyond Maker's Mark and Knob Creek. And Jack Daniel's is NOT a bourbon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Step off the strip mall parking lot and into a super French bistro. Excellent selection af well prepared and tasty bistro food. If the rest of the wine list increases geometrically from the excellent but very reasonably priced red Cotes du Rohne their high end wines should be something special. The main dishes were very nicely done, but were truly mountains of meat. Our "do again" plan is to order,for two people, a couple of appetizers, a couple of salads, and split a main dish. Decent, but not fancy, patio if you wanted to have a glass of wine and a couple of small plates for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Who knew one could have great experience and good value in a strip mall? Took party of ten for lunch. Very good service, nice atmosphere . Highly recommend. Don't let the French part scare u off, my son had one of the best hamburgers of his life here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Provencal also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Cafe Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Provencal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.