We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranoush

Ranoush
200 N Kirkwood Rd, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Head chef & owner of Ranoush, Aboud Alhamid brings to Saint Louis the finest combination of Middle Eastern cuisine. Aboud hails from Syria, the heart of the Middle East. He incorporates his mom’s home & family recipes along with the freshest ingredients to Ranoush’s menu in order for customers to enjoy a truly authentic Syrian experience. Aboud has been working in the hospitality industry for more than twelve years around the world. He wishes to import the same fun & animated atmosphere here to Ranoush. Aboud is grateful to be here in the land of opportunity, realizing his dream of building cultural connections between the East and West through food & enjoyment. So what does “Ranoush” mean, you ask? It is an Arabic lady’s nickname – Aboud named his restaurant after his wife. Here at Ranoush, Aboud offers you the Syrian experience from the heart of the Middle East. Enjoy! And Ahlan wa sahlan!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have eaten here more than once always sharing the mezza for two. Excellent service and wonderful food. We've always gotten a table right away and the place is never overly crowded. The last time we were there on a Friday night at 7PM they had a belly dancer. One thing I enjoy is their iced tea with a mint sprig. We plan to take our kids with us next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri Usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ranoush in Kirkwood is so good... great for a date night, but equally fun when you have 4-8 people, because there are so many items on the menu that you'll want to share. Fun drink menu, and outdoor seating is good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful Syrian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

While shopping and exploring Delmar loop my friend and I were looking for a place for lunch. We saw Ranoush and it was packed! We felt that many people couldn't be wrong so walked inside. We were VERY lucky, the outside dining area was totally filled and as was the inside. A table had just become open as we walked in so we quite lucky. They have an extensive menu, our server was awesome, so friendly and helpful. We both decided on the chicken shawarma, wonderful!!! Everything on our plates was grand. What a delight of flavors! The food was perfectly prepared and very fresh. It was such a treat to experience authentic mid eastern food! I only wish this restaurant was closer to my home!!! The people were so friendly and let us know they valued our patronage. Totally enjoyable experience. I highly recommend Ranoush!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Excellent service. Great people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was pretty good. I admit the style of cuisine is not my favorite, so i'm probably not the best judge. My husband loved it. The people who work there are really down-to-Earth and friendly. Our food took a little longer than the staff had anticipated (we didn't really notice!), and next thing you know, we had a second round of drinks and an appetizer on the house, and the owner came and personally apologized. We thought it was unnecessary since we were enjoying ourselves, but truly appreciated the fact they cared so much about our experience. Of course, we'll be going back after such royal treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is my new favorite restaurant! I have eaten here twice in the last month and have thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The menu is extensive and may need some explanation, so it's good to have waiters and waitresses who take pride in the cuisine and will spend the time to teach you about the offerings.(Our waiter this time was Alon, and he was charming!) He stressed how the owner takes such pride in making the dishes correctly because that's how Arabic food should be! My friend is vegetarian, and the meatless choices were abundant. Don't miss the baklava and other desserts and enjoy them with a pot of their special tea at the end. I'm planning to eat at Ranoush again very soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranoush also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Ranoush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranoush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.