We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food, Very Expensive too!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppe's Apt 2

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peppe's Apt 2
800 South Geyer Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122
314-909-1375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 restaurants in Kirkwood
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Very Expensive too!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. The food was good, don't get me wrong. And we paid for it. Our bill was about $100 for 2 entrees, 1 salad, and 2 or 3 drinks. Like I said the food was good but not $100 good. If I'm going to spend $100 dollars on a special dinner for two, I'd go somewhere else. Service was EXCELLENT!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    27
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Many locals not aware of this gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This isn't all the way off the beaten path, but many people who've lived all their lives in St. Louis don't seem to be aware of this place. Your first reaction when you walk in is that you've gone back in time; nearly-kitschy 1950s over-the-top white linen tablecloth Italian kinda' smacks you in the face. Once you get over that, the service is wonderful, the food is served hot and delicious, and you really get the idea that they're glad you're here. Give them a chance & you'll probably want to come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So so good! I want to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After a long day and a last minute decision to go out, my fiance and I decided to try out Peppe's. We don't live in the Kirkwood area but are familiar with it. We were in the are and look on TA for some place new that we hadn't tried before. So glad we did! We got there late (around 830) and they were very accommodating! The place is in an old house and was decorated very nicely--very intimate coy and chic. Very romantic, too.We were seated immediately, and had wonderful service. I surprisingly was in the mood for something other than pasta so I got the salmon special. My fiance got the pasta punttanesca. Both were delicious! Our plates were all but licked clean. I can't wait to go back, especially when it is warmer out and we can enjoy the patio.
I have to say that after reading many reviews about the nose I have to agree. It was loud but didn't bother me and we were able to have a conversation easily. I really only noticed the noise when I paid attention to it.
You have to try this place!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Our First Time Was A Big Hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went with a group on Saturday night so it was busy and too noisy for us. But, they made up for it with FANTASTIC service and great food. The snapper special was super and the ravioli marvelous. I had a veal special with eggplant that I really enjoyed. The sides were great, too, and what really did us in were the great desserts. We will come back for sure but will try for a weekday when it's not so noisy. I highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Apt 2. It is in a small building nestled in a residential neighborhood in Kirkwood, Mo. We were met at the door by the owner. The decor is very plush. White tablecloths, chandaliers, lots of silver, real roses on the table. I would say there are only around 15 tables. Our server was very nice and knowledgable. Their rolls came out piping hot and were delicious. Drinks were served promptly. Everything is ala carte. Entrees come with two prices/lower price-smaller serving. My husband had chicken parmesan and I had veal saltimbocca. We opted for the larger servings and were not disappointed. I had three pieces of veal and his chicken almost filled the plate. Entrees came with green beans and fingerling potatoes. Both were very good.

The only reason I can't give this a excellent rating is because of the noise. It seems like this restaurant is the place for the Ladies of Kirkwood to go. There were 4 large tables of ladies and everyone knows the noise level that brings. When we arrived, there was only one other table occupied, an hour later the place was full, all women and 5 men.
We really enjoyed Apt 2, but don't think I can get my husband to go back because of the noise.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppe's Apt 2 also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Peppe's Apt 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppe's Apt 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.