We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Time Was A Big Hit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppe's Apt 2

Peppe's Apt 2
800 South Geyer Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122
314-909-1375
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 50 restaurants in Kirkwood
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our First Time Was A Big Hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went with a group on Saturday night so it was busy and too noisy for us. But, they made up for it with FANTASTIC service and great food. The snapper special was super and the ravioli marvelous. I had a veal special with eggplant that I really enjoyed. The sides were great, too, and what really did us in were the great desserts. We will come back for sure but will try for a weekday when it's not so noisy. I highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    26
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Apt 2. It is in a small building nestled in a residential neighborhood in Kirkwood, Mo. We were met at the door by the owner. The decor is very plush. White tablecloths, chandaliers, lots of silver, real roses on the table. I would say there are only around 15 tables. Our server was very nice and knowledgable. Their rolls came out piping hot and were delicious. Drinks were served promptly. Everything is ala carte. Entrees come with two prices/lower price-smaller serving. My husband had chicken parmesan and I had veal saltimbocca. We opted for the larger servings and were not disappointed. I had three pieces of veal and his chicken almost filled the plate. Entrees came with green beans and fingerling potatoes. Both were very good.

The only reason I can't give this a excellent rating is because of the noise. It seems like this restaurant is the place for the Ladies of Kirkwood to go. There were 4 large tables of ladies and everyone knows the noise level that brings. When we arrived, there was only one other table occupied, an hour later the place was full, all women and 5 men.
We really enjoyed Apt 2, but don't think I can get my husband to go back because of the noise.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I drive by this restaurant everyday and have alway's wanted to try it. I knew by the size I would need a reservation and we are usually making plans last minute. Finally I made one and dinner was so good we had dinner there the very next night! Looking forward to dining there again soon. Don't miss this gem on the outer path of Kirkwood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our favorite Italian restaurant in St. Louis was Gian Peppes, on The Hill. He closed in 2001 when I guess he got tired of cooking and we were most disappointed. Just learned that he has reopened in Kirkwood and we tried the restaurant last Saturday night with 3 couples. What amazing food Peppe can cook--one special pasta dish was average, the other 5 meals were beyond exceptional. We decided that Peppe till cooks the very best Italian food in St. Louis. The old house is small and the dining room is noisy, but not as noisy as some people have commented. Our table of six could easily talk with each other but there was certainly background noise. However, the incredible food (and great wine choices) have easily made this our favorite Italian restaurant. I am looking forward to returning for dinner, trying their lunch and in warmer weather, the outdoor seating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Noisy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When this small restaurant is filled, the noise is so deafening it is difficult to have a conversation with a party of 4 and it's impossible at a table of 6. While the food is good quality and the decor beautiful, the noise is such a problem I have little desire to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppe's Apt 2 also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Peppe's Apt 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppe's Apt 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.