We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Frank Lloyd Wright gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park

Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park
120 North Ballas Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122
314-822-8359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Kirkwood
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Frank Lloyd Wright gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This FLW Usonian home is not to miss if you are a fan of architecture and design. You need to call ahead to arrange for tours Wednesday through Sunday. http://www.ebsworthpark.org/tours.html. The tours are limited to 10 so they are intimate and relaxed with knowledgable tour guide. There is only port-o-let for restroom facilities.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I Always wanted to visit rare gem of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The guides where excellent. Very amazing home. I loved the design but for me it would be hard to live in this place personally. Very zen like with many points in the design. I would call them poison arrows but some how it all works with balance. I loved the persimmon trees all around the home. I gather some for my recipe. I am sure it is high maintenance for the fruit drops on the patio and sky light window on the roof. It is part of the whole of the design. I have wanted to go to this place for ten years and my expectation became high and I was not disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Examples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The striking thing, to me, was that the folks who had this built originally kept everything (including the furniture) as is. They seemed to have the thought this would be passed on to future generations. They lived here, but kept it as kind of a museum. The tour is nice and gives good background on the problems encountered in building it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close Quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tours limited to 10 at a time. Great tour guide who knew lots about FLW and his homes. House is small, in great shape thanks to local preservationists. Very small gift area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
www.2soaringhearts.com
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Usonian Utopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Kraus home is a superb example of Wright's Usonian style. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the home is a wonderful insight into the quirky mind of Wright himself.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.