We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like the best place in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kirksville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kirksville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2702 South Franklin, Kirksville, MO 63501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kirksville
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Seems like the best place in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay here & would return on visiting this college town. It was an average stay in a clean hotel. The staff was fine as was the breakfast. It all seemed clean & the price was reasonable. The bedding really needed an upgrade, but was not bad or anything. Nothing amazing, but nothing bad to say either- so we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
5
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirksville, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a nightmare! We had rooms booked MONTHS in advance only to end up getting charged twice for the same room as well as a "No Show Fee" when we had indeed arrived and checked in. We were also treated rudely by the hotel staff throughout this ordeal, even when we were not at fault. Nothing was organized as should be and the entire experience ended up being confusing and unsatisfactory. Once the issue was identified, the front desk staff ended up making the problem more time consuming and costly by not being properly trained on how to refund our account. The manager had to come in and complete the transaction the next day, which further delayed problem solving and increased stress.

Overall, would not recommend due to unfriendly and extremely unprofessional staff on several occasions.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear 123Jake2013,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

We read with much concern the troubles you had with us. I sincerely apologize for the service you received from our staff was less than satisfactory and truly sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your standards. This is definitely not usual in our hotel as we always strive to deliver the highest level of service and customer care to all our guests.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had made a reservation several months in advance. For some reason, we were given the handicapped-accessible room. The shower in that room needs a lot of work. There were mildew stains along the seam where the floor meets the wall. The shower head was at the end of a flexible hose and one of the connections wasn't right, so water was coming both out of the shower head and out of another part of the hose. The shower didn't drain properly, and the trim which separated the shower floor from the bathroom floor included what looked like a piece of untreated wood quarter round, which looked like what you would expect a piece of wood to look like if it is constantly wet. I mentioned the problems to the desk clerk as we were checking out and she was apologetic and told me that it would be addressed. If you happen to get that room, I would check the shower before settling in.

At breakfast, they seemed to have problems keeping the food out. In the half an hour that we were in the breakfast area, we saw a lot of guests standing around and waiting for the next trays of food to come out.

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and will continue to do so. This weekend presented an opportunity for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Indymack,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the quality of your room accommodation and breakfast service. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent three nights in this motel in September of 2013 and I was pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice motel with the best complimentary breakfast I have experienced (except for horrible orange juice). The building is well insulated and quiet, the beds are comfortable, the modern TV works, the shower is wonderful, and the staff pleasant.

Minor complaints are limited to the poor orange juice, pillows that start out huge but collapse to nothing, a TINY elevator, and a crowded bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th holiday. We normally stay at one of the other hotels in town when we visit but thought we would go for the one with the pool this time. What a disappointment. Both afternoons I went to the pool there were no clean towels but there were plenty of used towels all over the pool deck. Our room (with 4 checked in guests) never had more than 3 towels in the bath. The front desk staff was as bad as the pool area.
On the plus side when I got home I called Corporate customer service and talked to a person that really cared about quality (or the lack there of) of my stay and went above and beyond to set things right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Skipro27,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us.

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered in our pool area and we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the towels. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Kirksville was certainly adequate and in some ways more than sufficient. The accomodations were fine, cable TV had an odd set-up of music channels sprinkled throughout, but the room was fine. Great shower, very poor pillows. Breakfast was certainly fine but nothing special. Given the realitive lack of options in Kirksville, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We once lived in Kirksville and recently returned to see family. Kirksville is a small college town with chain hotels as the option. This one was pretty good. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who was in training. The manager helped her get us checked in and offered us a friendly greeting as well. Our room had a comfortable king-sized bed, microwave, and mini refrigerator which we used. Also the wireless internet was included in the price of the room. In this day and age, I hate paying extra for it as happens in some hotels. As hotel rooms go in a small town this was pretty good. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast both mornings we were there. One thing I would hope management would address, we were there two nights. The morning after the first night, we left the hotel around 7:30 a.m. and returned around 2:30 p.m. The room had not been cleaned and we had work to do. So we put the do not disturb hanger on the door. It would seem the rooms of guests staying over would be cleaned first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kirksville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kirksville

Address: 2702 South Franklin, Kirksville, MO 63501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kirksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kirksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kirksville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Kirksville, MO welcomes you. We are a newly renovated hotel in Kirksville Missouri completed in the fall of 2007. We are a three floor, 63 room hotel with an indoor pool, fitness room and a business center. Our hotel features newly renovated Jacuzzi rooms. Our hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast, free local phone calls, and wireless Internet. We are also conveniently located .5 mi. from Truman State University and 1 mile from A.T. Still University. Our hotel is also located 5 miles from Thousand Hills State Park and Marina. We are also located 5 miles from the Kirksville Regional Airport. We do not currently offer shuttle service but there are taxi services in the area. We also have an Enterprise Rent A Car located just diagonally across from the hotel. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kirksville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville Hotel Kirksville
Holiday Inn Kirksville
Kirksville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.