We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mozambique's best kept secret!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massinga Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Massinga Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Massinga Beach Lodge
Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mozambique's best kept secret!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

2.5 hours from Inhambane you find this piece of paradise!

There are no words that can fully describe this magnificent lodge! The units are much bigger than one would expect, beautifully decorated!!! My best was having a bath overlooking the ocean at sunrise!!

Ian and his team really make you feel at home and so comfortable. The chef cooks up the most delicious meals, every time a treat for the taste buds.

Go and see Massinga Beach Lodge for yourself!! Well worth it.

Karin & Rodd Berriman

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, General Manager at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Karin & Rodd - my team and I really enjoyed hosting you, thank you for the compliments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

An incredible find, after so much of the same thing throughout Mozambique
finally here is a lodge offering spacious air-conditioned suites where there attention to detail is obvious, a unique setting on the dune providing intense views and a beautiful breeze which I find far preferable to the aircon. The food is so good it's almost out of context in this relaxed remoteness and all at a price that I could relate to, unlike those charged at some other barefoot luxury offerings I have visited.

If you are looking for remote luxury in Mozambique and your want to reap the benefits of a new operator making a name for themselves, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: The front row is what romance is all about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, Marketing representative at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Just a big thank you from us for enjoying Massinga Beach so much - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Let's commence with distance, not out of reach, fly LAM from Oliver Tambo to Inhambane ( 2-3 hours depending) and the organised shuttle gets you to the lodge quite comfortably. As you arrive, Ian Mills expertly sees to welcoming you and showing you around and before you know it, your luggage is taken to your chalet! Our chalet, no 15, was amazing, tastefully furnished, a massive comfortable bed and wherever you are literally- bedroom, bathroom area (shower or tub), even toilet- you have that azure ocean view. Refreshing personal splash pool, mosquitoe nets, well stocked bar fridge, aircon all good. Cuisine (3 meals) and service- room, restaurant or down at the beach all superb. Walking/running/diving/relaxing its all there and without the annoying overcrowding so prevalent at the usual run of the mill resorts the "sheep" all flock to! Complete safety, expansive unspoilt beaches and ocean warm as toast, even (once) in the rain (February). TV in games room (yes, scrabble et al) and in excellent cocktail bar-you actually find you dont miss or crave the absence of TV in the chalet/room!
With low season, generators do get switched off, however, in the least inconveniencing times. Selection of food/menu and drinks is certainly more than adequate and a plan is made by Ian on request and obligingly followed through by attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing & Reservations at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very pleased that the transfer from Inhambane was comfortable - it really is through some amasingly stunning scenery. Whilst we have ensure that every detail has been attended to in the identical Ocean Front Rooms, we note you commented on the service and the food - of that we are very proud! We are providing some rechargeable lamps, particularly for reading, after the generator is switched off at night. Thank fully the sea breeze keeps rooms comfortably cool and mosquitos away. Ian looks forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My Wife and I have been regular travellers to some of the up market resorts in Mozambique. On planning our honeymoon we were looking for something a little more private but special. Our travel agent suggested Massinga Beach. We were flown in by helicopter which was in itself an unforgettable experience. The view at Massinga Beach is slightly elevated and to quote another guest ” this view could only be described as intense”. Each Casa or Unit has its own private pool situated on the sun deck overlooking the beach which appears to go on forever. The Casa’s are extremely well finished with an unprecedented attention to detail. On walking into the Casa you are confronted with an emperor size bed with sliding doors opening onto the sundeck. Management have thought of everything, one example is the air-conditioner has been mounted above the bed inside the mosquito net. Compared to other resorts this really is a jewel in Mozambique. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they really did cater for our every whim. The ongoing theme of attention to detail was evident in the food and service which was better than most five star resorts we have been to in Mozambique. We had a waiter assigned to us on arrival which was a nice touch. Ian the resort manager, really made us feel as if we were part of the family. Massinga Beach gets our thumbs up . To quote a now retired Californian Governor “we will be back “.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing & reservations at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Our First Honeymooners - hence the helicopter which is not the norm! You will always remain special and we look forward to you celebrating many anniversaries at Massinga Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Massinga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, beauty therapy, star-gazing, picnics and delicious food. Every room is a honeymoon suite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massinga Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.