We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8200 N. Church Road, Kansas City, MO 64158   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great service at the front desk. We had reserved two rooms, and when we got there about 6 pm one room hadn't been cleaned. The other room bathroom door wouldn't stay shut or lock. They offered to move us to other rooms, but those rooms smelled terrible! So we made do with the original rooms after they found someone to clean the one. The beds were comfortable. But the sofa sleeper was hammered and looked awful to sleep on. The kids enjoyed the pool, but what used to be a hot tub is permanently covered. The breakfast was fine. Convenient location. But probably will look somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest review. I take each review seriously and take immediate steps to remedy each one. Housekeeping and staff service is my number 1 priority as a new manager.

I hope that you try us again and if you have any problems I invite you to call me. Thank you again for your feedback!

Kind Regards,
Tom Johnston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    16
    12
    11
See reviews for
39
20
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got a good deal on Expedia for this hotel. It was very convenient to the interstate. Our room was large and had a microwave, small refrigerator and a small couch. Unfortunately, our door was very hard to lock from the outside when we left the room. The staff was helpful and offered to move us to another room. Also, the wifi never worked while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites in Liberty, Missouri. I have noted your concerns with the WiFi and have taken steps to correct the speed issue. We hope you stay with us again and I invite you to call me if you have any future needs.

Thank You Again,
Tom Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our Baseball team was required to stay here 2 nights while attending our State Baseball tournament so we could be put in the brackets. Our room air conditioner had mold in its vents and also its refrigerator was frozen up. We reported these issues Friday night to the day shift clerk. Clerk promised to have it fixed Saturday morning. We asked again the same night but the night clerk said no report had been filed. So they completed a maintenance request. Clerk also said it would be fixed at 10:00 A.M. However, these were not fixed at all by the next day at 1:30 P.M. Now the clerk said these would not be fixed because no one would be available to fix them on a weekend. So we were forced to stay Saturday night because the desk refused to allow us to checkout after 1:00 due to new management had changed check out time from 4:00 to 1:00 P.M. Service also refused to change our sheets on Saturday or give us new sheets to do it ourselves. Other maintenance issues were one broken lamp socket, another lamp without a bulb, an alarm clock light that didn't work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I want to apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. As a new manager I appreciate your feedback and how we can make things better at our hotel.

I will communicate your concerns with our staff and take steps to ensure guests are taken care of promptly. Thank you again for your feedback.

Tom Johnston
Manager
Comfort Suites Liberty, Missouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip to World's of Fun. Great location, close to lots of restaurants, Walmart and Target, about 10 minutes from World's of Fun. Hotel looks updated but it's old, the fridge and microwave were from the 80's and the fridge was one of those tiny cube ones. Pool was small and cold, the pool area was also cold. I think they run the A/C in the pool area to prevent condensation on metal sufaces as they are fighting rust. The kids didn't care, they still loved the pool and had a great time. We paid $95/night on Priceline, Comfort Suites website was the exact same price and I could've gotten points, oh well. The room was large, comfortable and clean, I wouldn't call it a suite though. Overall a good experience, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st or 2nd floor to avoid using the single elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you for choosing our Comfort Suites for your family's stay. We are glad your children enjoyed themselves and really look forward to having you as our guests in the future. Yes- please book your next reservation on our Choice website, we always guarantee the lowest rates AND you will get those points to earn a free night!

Sincerely,
Renee Hadley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfork, Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had concerns staying here that we were too far out for a Royals Game and dinner on the Plaza. Not so! It's a drive, but not horrible. And, this beautiful, comfortable facility makes the location worthwhile. Large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Wonderful & accommodating staff and management. Even though we were there on a busy weekend with lots of kids, we did not feel crowded or over run by children. And, it was quiet. Great shopping nearby and, for families, lots of kids activities.

Our room had a jacuzzi, but we did not use it. Unfortunately, the pool is indoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are happy that you found our hotel conveniently located to all the great attractions the KC area has to offer (go Royals!) and that your stay was an enjoyable. On behalf of all of our staff we thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again if your travels return you to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for three nights for a baseball tournament (had to stay in one of "their" hotels so they could get part of the proceeds). After the game Friday night - around midnight - no hot water, so I called the front desk. Saturday morning - no hot water. I called again. She informed me that they were full, and they were having issues with the hot water heater and the maintenance man was not there. Sat. night - no hot water...Sun - no hot water. Meanwhile - some of the other parents had hot water at times. Still no hot water Monday morning. After we took cold showers, the maintenance man arrived and fixed the shower. Little late! They did comp everyone for their trouble with the water - but only $25 a night...Still not worth it! Hotel owner replied to my e-mail and stated they did the best they could do...REALLY!! Oh...and they NEVER cleaned our rooms! We had to go ask for towels each day...not sure why we bothered getting towels since the shower was cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Ms. Susie B,

We would like to say again how sorry we are that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Cold showers are not fun and it is not how we want our hotel remembered by our guests.

We appreciate your team staying with us and strive to take the best care of all of our guests.
The issue has been resolved and we would love to have you with us if your baseball team ever returns to the KC area.

Sincerely,
Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here recently. For what we paid I expected a little better, the Hilton and Homewood Suites which are nicer were lower priced. Room was dank and AC didn't work well. The bed was terrible in the room, rock hard and very hard to sleep on. Sheets were dirty in the second bed so we couldn't even sleep on that one. Room keys would always stop working. They have birthday parties in the pool so don't expect to use it that much. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. They had some sort of group (teenagers) who were extremely loud and obnoxious, when I complained to the front desk they did nothing but shrug their shoulders.

Room Tip: don't expect to use the pool on the weekends since they have birthday parties in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansascitymolodging, Manager at Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Snuffy,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to give us your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' stay.

We know that summer months bring a lot of excitement to our area and hotel. It is our goal that everyone enjoys their time with us. Weekends are full of fun while our weekdays are more relaxed at the hotel. For future bookings check online- we have wonderful deals and packages available to fit a variety of travel plans.

We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty

Address: 8200 N. Church Road, Kansas City, MO 64158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel has 71 beautiful deco rooms featuring a mini size refrigerator, microwave, free WI-FI, All brand new 37" LED Plasma flat screen televisions, and wide variety of cable channels. We offer free continental breakfast. We offer onsite washer and dryer use to our guest, business center, indoor saltwater pool, and gym for your use. Several of local shopping within minutes, and wide variety of restaurants. The property is all interior for your security. The parking lot is large enough for buses and there is also street parking. If you are looking for comfort, security, convenience this would be your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.