We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7333 NE Parvin Rd., I-435 and Parvin Road, Kansas City, MO 64117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Short stay but relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

As a lot of reviews, we choose this place for location- stayed only 2 nights but had a great stay in K C-did the WOF/OOF & took in a Royals game ( & they won )
The pool was fine for our kids 8-10 did have breakfast which was decent-beds very comfy-the room was spotless
Lil pricey for a Monday/Tuesday stay but still give it a solid 4 out of 5
Would stay again =).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
17
4
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I spent a night here recently and while its close proximity to I-435 is nice and convenient, there's a bit of noise from the highway when you're sleeping in an exterior room (opposite the Holidome area).

The rooms are clean but there are a few things that would make for a perfect stay if in place:

*120-Volt outlets are needed by the night stands at bedside for charging cell phones, laptop computers, and other devices.

*Refrigerators and microwaves are needed in the standard rooms- some of us are on medication that has to be refrigerated, not to mention having a place to keep our beverages cold would be a nice touch.

*Heavier, noise-insulating curtains for the exterior rooms would help reduce noise from the highway.

The staff at the front desk as well as the maid and maintenance staff are all very helpful. I will stay here again once I hear that improvements are made.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked the Days Inn, across the street, and stayed there for 2 nights...we were so scared for our safety and grossed out we decided to go to the Holiday Inn instead for the 3rd night!! Soooooo worth every penny! First of all kids eat free for all meals! (12 and under) and the food was great! (try to get coupons for free buffet online) the rooms were so nice and clean! The pool was awesome and nice sized, and the hot tub was huge! So when it rained the 3rd day we spent 6 hours at the pool! Happy hour was a good deal! AND they shuttle you to and from ocean/worlds of fun! They give you a card and when you call they come and get you, we waited 5 min! The staff was so kind, and they let us check in early so we could hit the park early! We WILL be staying here again!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms come with coupons for free adult buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came for World's of Fun/Ocean's of Fun (WOF/OOF). Could not find a closer Hotel than this one. Was a bit skeptic at first because of some of the comments. NO WORRIES HERE!!! What a Great Hotel! We LOVE the fact that they will drop you off-pick you up at the parks! We went to WOF first, got picked up, and ate lunch at the Hotel. We then got dropped off at OOF, spent 3 hours there, called for the ride, and were brought back to our room. After drying off, we got a lift back to WOF, where we closed it down. Once a again, we got a super-easy ride back to our room. Two parks, same day, no $20.00 parking fee :) A special Thank You to, Matt and Susie!!! They were our Awesome shuttle drivers, who offered us free ice-cold water, on a VERY HOT day, on every trip! Not only were they super-quick on picking us up/dropping us off, they were super friendly!!! Oh, by the way, the Hotel pool/whirlpool, ROCKS as well! We will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here because it is near Worlds of Fun. My husband and I were traveling with our small dog, so we asked for a room on the first floor that was away from the pool area. We were given a key to a room and when we opened the door, the room had not yet been cleaned. I waited in the hallway with all of our stuff while my husband went back to the front desk. They told him there were not any other rooms available and we would have to wait for this one to be cleaned. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and the woman started on cleaning the room immediately.

The room itself was nothing special. I had asked for a room with a fridge, but the front desk said none were available. The large window faced directly out to the parking area, with cars less than 2 feet from the glass. At one point someone's car alarm went off for several minutes - which was very loud in the room. Other than that, the room was very quiet. The only real complaint I had with the room was that the bathroom tile around the tub had some dark/mold stains on the grout.

My sister met us in Kansas City to take her kids to Worlds of Fun. When she checked in, they gave her a room on the third floor. She said the room had a huge dark stain on the ceiling. It turned out that the ceiling was leaking and her daughter woke up with water dripping on her in the bed. My sister went down to the front desk and asked for a new room. She was given another room down the hall, again on the third floor. After moving everything down to the new room, they discovered that this room had a leaky ceiling as well! Again she went down to the front desk and asked for a new room. Fortunately, the new room did not leak. It did have a fridge, which annoyed me, since I was told none were available. They gave my sister free breakfast tickets to try and make up for the inconvenience.

Overall, the staff were very nice. The property was not so nice. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of choices, but it isn't necessarily included in your room price. The servers at the restaurant were excellent and extremely nice to us. The pool area is also nice. The rooms could use a lot of improvement.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear EcoDog,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We decided on this hotel based on the proximity to Worlds of Fun. The Hotel appears to be a 1970s Holiday inn that they tried and cover up with a paint job and some fancy cloth hanging from the ceiling. When I asked for an extra shower towel I was told that I could not have one because the Hotel was running low. The Ice Machine was broke on our floor and the elevator was broke. There was mold on the ceiling tiles in our bathroom and the hallways and stairs did not look like they had been vacuumed anytime recently. The Breakfast Buffet was not impressive, anyone could open up a can of fruit and dump it in a bowl and call it fresh fruit. Most of the Staff was pleasant and wanted to help, but just did not have the resources to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekSommerville, Manager at Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a survey regarding the Holiday Inn kansas City. Your review will help better our hotel, and help us achieve our goal of being the #1 hotel in the area. We apologize for not living up to the standards one should expect from a Holiday Inn, and please contact the Hotel if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,
Marvin Drew
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed because of the proximity to Worlds of Fun. My husband is a platinum rewards member, the desk was out of water bottles at our check in but offered my daughter snacks instead, which was appreciated. The pool area is inviting and fun for children. Breakfast buffet had a very good variety and quality. Hallway carpet could use some updating, it looks old. The only other negative is the room we had (174), the A/C vent blows right onto your face when you are sleeping. It kept waking me up and my ears about froze, but we needed the A/C on because it was 90 degrees out. I don't think there is much you can do about that... just awkward placement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City - Ne Hotel
Holiday Inn Kansas City - Ne Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ne
Address: 7333 NE Parvin Rd., I-435 and Parvin Road, Kansas City, MO 64117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kansas City Northeast is your Kansas City hotel! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager to share with you why so many travelers to Kansas City choose to be our guest.In town for a business trip? We are your Kansas City hotel for corporate travel. We are centrally located near Ford, Union Pacific, Cerner, Kansas City Auto Auction, Grainger, Executive Park, and LabCorp. On a leisure trip? Spend less time in your car and more time having fun! We are the closest full service hotel in Kansas City to Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, Ameristar, Harrah s, WynBrick Center, and we're just a short drive to the Kansas City Zoo, River Market, Union Station, Crown Center, Country Club Plaza, and Kansas Speedway. Prepared for your stay, we feature a business center, free wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public space, Plum s Restaurant and Lounge, room service, free shuttle service within a five mile radius, and a tropical atrium with an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. For meetings, receptions and special events, our Kansas City hotel features 4 meeting rooms with free wireless and full service catering. Our Birthday Party Packages make planning your child's birthday celebration simple and memorable. Relax, and make our Kansas City hotel your Kansas City home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kansas City - NE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.