We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
1 review
“Beautiful and Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place makes you feel like you're living in the elegance of the past...in a good way. It's very classy and makes you feel very sophisticated. The staff was friendly and helped clarify questions about the bill. Definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    168
    65
    32
    24
See reviews for
60
179
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Honest Housekeeping Staff!! Sooo nice! To my dismay at the airport I realized I left my kindle behind. I called and was pleasantly surprised that it had been recovered. Chris was able to send it back to me and returned my calls. I am so thankful. The hotel was lovely

Room Tip: The "09" rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are so happy that we were able to get your property back to you. Thank you for the nice compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I decided to get away for two nights and drive down to Kansas City. We used a hotel bidding site in hopes to get a four star hotel in downtown Kansas City. We were excited when we walked in. Historical, classy, and we thought we were in for a treat.

First off the valet is awfully overpriced at $22 a day. I say that because other hotels nearby provide free valet.

We get our key cards and take the elevator to the room. It was a fairly small queen room (but they claimed it was an upgrade). The size was excusable considering the age of the hotel. The mattress was awful. I've slept on Roadway Inn mattresses more comfortable than this. The real surprise was in the morning when I took a shower. First there was black mold everywhere on the shower curtain. Gross. Second, when I showered, every two minutes the water literally turned off.

I went down to the front desk. I work a job in high end retail customer service, so I tried to be as pleasant as possible. The woman at the desk was incredibly nice, moved our room, and comped our breakfast. We accepted that, but even when we went to the restaurant, which wasn't even full, it took 20 minutes to even have someone come over. We didn't even bother for a second morning of it.

The new room was the same style, but right next to the elevators. This was awful when trying to sleep at night. All you could hear were drunk idiots getting on and off and the elevator dinging every time the doors opened. The mattress was just as bad as the other room. So much so, that I slept on the sofa and my wife slept on the bed.

After my wife and I almost up and left at 1:00 AM. When I checked out I let a manager know the issues we had. She tried to apologize and offered to comp one night of valet for the issues. I accepted it and let her know that I'd be posting this review.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I am very sorry that you had so many issues during your stay. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further as we do not like any guest to leave feeling the way that you do .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights for a volleyball tournament. Hotel was very close to the Power and Light District and the Convention Center. We stayed on the 15th floor and our room was nice except the windows and blinds were very dusty. Our air conditioner did not work the first night and we woke up extremely hot throughout the night. We did call the front desk the next morning and they sent Kevin to our room to fix it. Kevin was super nice and had the AC working within minutes. We were very impressed by how nice the staff was throughout our entire stay. They even sent us up a mini fridge and a microwave. The only complaint I have was that the walls seemed very thin and we could hear everything from the rooms next to us. Unfortunately 2 nights in a row we were awakened by our neighbors partying. Our entire volleyball team stayed in the hotel and they also had the same complaint about the noise.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are very happy that we were able to give you the customer service that we pride ourselves in and are glad that we were able to remedy your issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time at this hotel. Easy check-in and valet car parking (although parking is $22 per night). Lobby is very nice...old style and rather elegant. Room was comfortable in appearance...just not in temperature! Thermostat not working and couldn't turn it down...even putting air conditioning on resulted in an 80 degree room...finally turned unit off.
Also water for shower not hot at 10:00AM....so take early showers.Other issues not major, but slightly inconvenient. No full length mirror in room, so I didn't notice I had forgotten to put on my pants till I got to the bar.....(OK, that isn't true, but the rest of the review is!) Also no clock or clock radio in the room....was told there was supposed to be one. Main problems....room too hot and water in shower not. I imagine these will be corrected as I reported them.

Room Tip: The "04 rooms"...we were in 1904...are a little bigger than others. and quiet as no one on...
See more room tips
Green Features: No idea about this. I clicked on the link to read about their practices but got "not available at this location" when I did.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are sorry that you had encountered issues during your stay and that we fell short in our promise of a great experience. please feel free to reach out to me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby and the location were both great! The gentleman at the front desk spoke very low and mumbled, so very hard to understand. He could not find our reservation and asked me to email my confirmation to him multiple times, even after I asked if he had received it. The room appeared clean. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have slept on, at one point I woke up and contemplated moving to the sofa. Thank goodness we were only there for one night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Please feel free to reach out to me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A well situated hotel. It was a good experience from arriving, valet parking for the car, the receptionist was polite helpful and patient. The bed was very comfortable and a good size, the room was large with a small seating area including a desk. The bathroom was not large but had all it needed and the shower was nice and powerful.
There was free juice and coffee available in the lobby but the gym was small and not really as advertised.
It is the location that sets the Hotel Phillips apart, a short walk and you are in the heart of the Power and Light District a vibrant area of bars, restaurants etc..
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.