We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things considered not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All things considered not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently had a block of rooms in this hotel for my brother's wedding. The hotel itself was nice, somewhat boutique-ish. We arrived on a Friday and checked out on Monday. Unfortunately the hotel's air condition system had gone out on Thursday. Keep in mind this was the end of August. Air was out until about Saturday evening and things finally cooled off. The hotel was gracious enough to comp everyone a free night. Room service was prompt and good. Especially the carrot cake. They did have live music in the restaurant/bar which my wife and I always enjoy. House keeping services could be a little better. Provided clean towels and such, but vacuuming could be better. The location was good. It close to the Power and Light district which is an entertainment complex-restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and pleased the event went well despite some immediate attention required to cool everyone off! Our staff worked hard and fast to alleviate any inconvenience, and we are pleased everyone had a good time.
Dan B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    125
    47
    20
    17
See reviews for
43
120
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a jewel! This is a great hotel in the Heart of Kansas City Missouri its a must stay. Friendly staff clean rooms and very accommodating! If you like great food and night life check this out. Large spacious suites and great restaurant and wine and cheese mixer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Im pretty simple in my hotel needs but strict at the same time. I like clean, helpful staff, amenities that function and an exercise room. First the ups, clean, staff was friendly and helpful, and they had an exercise room open 24 hours.

But there were downs also. The Room key didn't work and they sent me into a room with someone in it, Soda machine took my money and the gym had not properly functioning equipment.

All in all ok, but it's hard not to have the details avoidable in my impression.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building. Great location! Close to everything in light district! Book online with their specials! Just be sure to print off your receipt! We had a breakfast voucher for our trip and enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a night as a getaway for my thirty-fifth birthday. I'm from Kansas City and knew of the historic hotel but had never been there. I was impressed by the preservation of its historic beauty when I walked in. I was immediately greeted by the very friendly front desk staff and pointed toward the complimentary cocktail reception.

Our large room featured two queen sized beds, each with a big window above it. The beds were so comfortable, I actually slept better than at home. I don't know if the hotel has suites,, so I'm not sure how it would be for a family. However, I do think it would make a romantic getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora,Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location in the heart of downtown Kansas City! The hotel lobby is nice and staff are excellent. The drawback is parking is $18 per night for valet parking but there is no other alternatives that are reasonable.

The rooms are clean and a decent size ......the bathroom is right by the bed though so kind of a turnoff. We asked to be moved to a different room but would have had to pay for an upgrade so passed on that. Just didn't like sleeping right beside the bathroom. Not too romantic!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Great, friendly staff. Convenient location. We noticed little things, like rips in the elevator wallpaper. But we also noticed that the next day someone was repairing those rips. A really pleasant experience. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.