We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our son was in the Skills USA Conference. Unfortunately arrangements were not available for parents to travel with them but arrangements could be made for accommodations through Skills USA. Booked in hopes of being close to the Conference as well as something to do. Our son would be at there 90% of his time. We were so close we could walk there, literally in less than 5 minutes! To our surprise we were walking distance from everything in the center of the city,the Power and Light District, the Symphony, dining, the library, several fountains, a great market called Cosentinos, really to much to mention. 12 Baltimore, the resturant located in the hotel was very nice.The hotel was stunning! From comfortable beds, the absence of noise, wine tastings above the marble Grand Stairway to Brooklyn at the front desk with her 1st class service! Hotel Phillips made our trip with the Conference quiet an unexpected getaway!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    127
    50
    20
    17
See reviews for
45
122
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I love old hotels when they are maintained well and exude the charm of yesteryear. This one fit the bill.

Inspired: the Art Deco interior was amazing as was the artwork by Kevin Deen who is the artist in residence at the hotel

Pro: location for walking, breakfast, friendly staff, cool bar, fast WIFI, large room, cold HVAC

Con: very popular hotel so busy front desk - check in was late

Return: yes I will

Found: via SniqueAway - great deal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel. Kansas City has some wonderfully maintained buildings, and we celebrate our 82 year history of Hotel Phillips each day. Our artist, Kevin Deen, is very proud of his mid-western roots, his work is inspired by the many treasures in the area, and welcomes everyone to his studio to watch him work and answer any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was impressive. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. Thank you for the complimentary wine and cheese Friday during happy hour, it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did not book any rooms until we got into Kansas City and came across a stellar deal for the Hotel Phillips on Expedia so booked it immediately. The valet guys and bellmen were so very helpful with our luggage and arranging for a car to the Royals Stadium. The bar/restaurant attached had great service as well as fabulous food and drinks. Kristen in the bar is amazing. The room we had was a great size and everything was very quiet. It took forever for our room to cool even after having someone come look at the AC. Despite that detail, we enjoyed our stay and would definitnely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Phillips has a room quote in it's advertisement of $114.00 but you won't see it on check out.
Nor did the staff at the desk. The rooms are nice and my stay was quite. If it were not for the nearby venues they would not be full. The staff was helpful in getting me an extra night but I had to check out and back in with a wait that was uncalled for. Overall I would try the other hotels if I return. The attached restaurant was good but expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a horrible stay at the Phillips. The room was filthy, the staff at the front desk was not very friendly, there is no fridge, no vents and the bath tub was not working properly. The water would not go down the drain no matter what I did, the water ended up backing up! There was a broken outlet with cables exposed and so many other details that are just unbelievable. I feel cheated out of my money and would ask other guests to please look at other hotels in the area before even considering the Phillips. Do not make the mistake that I did, you will regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and regret your room and experience was poor. As we try to resolve any problems that come up as quickly as possible, I would be interested in knowing if any of our associates received this feedback from you while staying with us. I would be very interested in learning more from you if you would like to contact me. You may reach me directly at 816-346-4422. Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a historic hotel to take my husband for his 40th B-Day and Hotel Phillips did not disappoint! The room was super clean, smelled like soap actually, when we walked in, great 16th floor view of P&L District, beautiful furniture, comfy bed & great amenities. Ordered room service and it was delivered on time as promised & the food was delicious! As a surprise, I had chocolate covered strawberries delivered while we were out for the evening & they were delicious! Not one bad thing to say! Would stay again in a minute! Walking distance to P&L District as well as great restaurants. Felt safe walking to & from P&L and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.