We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay there . went to 891 chophouse and ate supper and later that night went to a play at municipal theater . Overall the hotel was nice , in a few spots could of been cleaned a little better . Bathroom faucet would never get hot water , just warm . Tub worked fine. I realize on a older hotel is harder to keep clean as there is 80 plus years of dirt that get in hard to clean places . Room was clean , mostly just noticed in hall ways some dust in corners . Thought it was a lovely hotel just needed a little extra elbow grease put in here and there . Would not have a problem staying again . Staff was more than friendly .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your feedback is very valuable to us. We strive to ensure good responsive service and clean, attractive accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    122
    45
    19
    16
See reviews for
42
117
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here on a "girls' weekend" trip to Kansas City, and I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Older hotels always make me a little leery, but this one has been re-done really well. The staff was very friendly in helping give us directions and dining suggestions, and as the hotel is right in the Power & Light District it is within walking distance to a lot of fun places.

If I had to be picky, my one complaint was that our room was not made up (we had a 2 night stay). The day after our first night in the hotel we left for the day around 11:00 a.m. and made sure to take the "Do Not Disturb" sign off our door, but when we returned at 5:00 p.m. the room wasn't made up. Someone knocked on our door at 6:00 p.m.(!) saying they were there to clean the room, but by that point we were getting ready for dinner so we told them it was too late. Not a big deal, because the room was very clean with plenty of towels, but it is always nice to have things fresh.

Overall it was a really nice place and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We certainly thank you for your continued business, and apologize for the housekeeping miscommunication on your second day. Shouldn't happen, and we move forward with training and communication. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,mo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room we stayed in was a bit small, but beautifully decorated. I know the hotel has other options available, but we found a great deal online so we can't complain about the room size. The staff
was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel location is in walking distance of several great restaurants and shops. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and for the nice comments! We look forward to you staying with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I first stayed at Hotel Phillips while interviewing for jobs while in college. I even lived around the corner from the hotel for a couple of years, and this is still my favorite hotel in downtown KC. The hotel is in a great location and is easily within walking distance to the Power & Light District. The rooms are very nicely furnished with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. The hotel has a really great atmosphere, and the attached restaurant (12 Baltimore) has a good variety of items to choose from. I personally feel the valet service is kind of expensive and inconvenient if you plan on spending much time in other areas of the city, so I always try to find street parking within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The parking situation is the only reason I would rate Hotel Phillips as "Very Good" instead of "Excellent".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Received a great rate online through a third party booking site but still would have been satisfied paying more. The hotel is beautiful and I was very surprised at the value. The front desk agents were friendly and valet was amazing. Great location too! The only issue that i can think of was the ac unit was kind of tricky at times and wouldn't cooperate but no big deal. Will definitely try and stay here again next time in KC!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel has my highest rating. Staff members were so accommodating and friendly. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean. Loved my four night stay there. The location was perfectly suited to my needs - walking distances to fine restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Phillips in March for spring break. The staff was amazing and knew our names by the second day. The valet service was wonderful. They helped bring in all our bags and escorted us to our room. We were going to pay extra to have a refrigerator because we had our baby with us and we needed somewhere to keep his milk. They waved the fee, stating that we had a baby and would be in need of a fridge. It was a very art deco hotel with beautiful murals. Our room smelled amazing and was very clean. There were a few places where the wall paper had bubbles in it, but nothing too unsightly. The beds were very comfortable and the location was wonderful. The only down side that I found was that two double beds were really two full beds, not queens. They were a little small for us since we have a King size at home. Should we decide to go back to KC, we will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.