We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice weekend visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We found a great Expedia rate and stayed on a Saturday night. This is a really cute boutique hotel with a good restaurant and room service options. Great location and friendly service. The double double room was surprisingly spacious. Good option for a weekend trip.. It's not the ritz, but it has character if you are looking to avoid the chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Our associates and I are happy your brief stay with us was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    178
    74
    36
    29
See reviews for
62
198
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Phillips for a valentines weekend and attended a concert at P&L. i absolutely love the history and ambiance of the Hotel Phillps. The Ball Room is gorgeous and remenisant of old ballroom parties with the gowns the top hats, the maritnis, cigar smoke and gambling. The lobby is just as enchanting, then theres this stair case that goes downstair to what looks like it could be a really cool bar, but its vacant???? dont know why. The room was as expected, this is an old hotel, expectations werent as pretentious as today's snobs, so they werent built for primadonnas. It has a bed, a bathroom, tv, dresser, and an outstanding view, thats all you need in that districtAnd yes the parking isnt great, but its downtown... LOVE LOVE LOVE the hotel, and will come back again! Oh and had room service at 2:00am ! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I like a hotel that feels like it has some history to it. This is an old building brought back to life, a solid place with large rooms (spacious even with a rollaway bed in it) and cool bathrooms. Vintage lobby, clean, lots of marble, felt like it had seen a lot. Helpful staff. Good breakfast in the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and we very much appreciate your business.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First of all, as you can see I don't write many reviews. It takes something above and beyond, and our New Year's Eve wedding at Hotel Phillips was absolutely spectacular. I stayed for 4 nights, and the staff literally could not have been more accomadating on anything I asked. We had a fairly 'festive' group attending the wedding, and the reviews we've been given on each of their stays have been outstanding. We had our reception on the mezzanine level and in the ballroom, and every detail was beyond what we imagined. It was the PERFECT venue for a winter wedding. It offers a unique combination of sitting areas, open space, and nooks and crannies that sets it apart from any wedding I've attended. The bride and I LITERALLY could not script it any better. Specifically, we'd like to thank Leslie Sargent who worked with us on the planning and did an over the top job on every last detail, making it a night we will never ever ever forget (Oh and neither will the guests who can't stop talking about it).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your marriage. Our staff, and Leslie Sargent are very appreciative of your comments.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The staff was especially helpful and friendly! We were there at Christmas time and it was elegantly decorated for Christmas. They have a wine and cheese tasting every evening from 5-6 in the lobby, and a coffee bar in the daytime. The valet service was quick and efficient! The hotel lobby is Stunning! we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We hope you enjoyed your time away from home at Christmas and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel's website says they are pet-friendly, what they don't tell you is that there is a $50 "pet fee." The front desk staff acted very snooty because we had a dog. The fee was supposed to include a pet bed, dish, treats and aromatherapy kit. We had to call down to the front desk to have this delivered, and they replied with "let me see if we have any of that." Rooms were on the small side although the website says every room is a suite. Not true. No fridge or microwave. There was free WiFi. No self-parking; valet only at $18 per night. There was never a bell man to help us with our bags. Valet was quick although they did wreck the car of the man in line in front of us. Great location if you're going to the convention center. Kind of far from shopping at the Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are sorry for any confusion. We are a very pet friendly hotel, with many happy return guests. Our Phillips Phido package is to provide a doggy bed and treats from Three Dog Bakery, and a canine aromatherapy gift!. These are included with the package, and our website also states there is a non-refundable $50 deposit, which is necessary to ensure the room is ready for any subsequent guest, and also states our valet parking fee. There is a $50 deposit for any guest with a dog not staying on the Phido package. Please contact me with any questions.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Please ignore the Marriot located close by and do yourself a favor and stay here! Classic finishings in the lobby, with a friendly staff and prompt valet service. I love that they kept the orginal elevators- it just adds a nice touch you don't find on chains. Clean room with comfy beds.

Do not miss out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on our wonderful staff and product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.