We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet owners, be aware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pet owners, be aware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although this hotel's website says they are pet-friendly, what they don't tell you is that there is a $50 "pet fee." The front desk staff acted very snooty because we had a dog. The fee was supposed to include a pet bed, dish, treats and aromatherapy kit. We had to call down to the front desk to have this delivered, and they replied with "let me see if we have any of that." Rooms were on the small side although the website says every room is a suite. Not true. No fridge or microwave. There was free WiFi. No self-parking; valet only at $18 per night. There was never a bell man to help us with our bags. Valet was quick although they did wreck the car of the man in line in front of us. Great location if you're going to the convention center. Kind of far from shopping at the Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are sorry for any confusion. We are a very pet friendly hotel, with many happy return guests. Our Phillips Phido package is to provide a doggy bed and treats from Three Dog Bakery, and a canine aromatherapy gift!. These are included with the package, and our website also states there is a non-refundable $50 deposit, which is necessary to ensure the room is ready for any subsequent guest, and also states our valet parking fee. There is a $50 deposit for any guest with a dog not staying on the Phido package. Please contact me with any questions.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    152
    58
    26
    20
See reviews for
54
154
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Please ignore the Marriot located close by and do yourself a favor and stay here! Classic finishings in the lobby, with a friendly staff and prompt valet service. I love that they kept the orginal elevators- it just adds a nice touch you don't find on chains. Clean room with comfy beds.

Do not miss out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on our wonderful staff and product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a gorgeous art deco property with attractive comfortable rooms (smaller than some) and a pleasant staff. May not be the best choice for a business group, however. We had 8 or 9 in a conference room and the wi-fi was not adequate to allow everyone to connect. Restaurant was good, quick and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is unique and you can't get that from a chain. There is an old British feel to it.
The valet is a bonus but costs. We brought dogs and they are really pet friendly with providing an awesome dog bed and an eating pad. But the grass is 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is rated as a four star. The lobby is beautiful but my room left much to be desired. There were some thoughtful touches with decor but the mattress had a sink hole in the center, there was no in room safe, or refrigerator, the sheets and towels were of low quality, ie- very rough on the skin and the heating/ac unit made a racquet. The room was decently clean- by no means spotless, and housekeeping did a perfunctory job.

The major downside is that there is no parking. Kansas City is a driving town and a car it is imperative if you want to go anywhere other than the lame Power and Light district (where the hotel is located). There is no on street parking, and the hotel offers valet parking for $18 overnight. It is irritating and the one major flaw.

I should add that I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at the restaurant below- it exceeded my expectations.

This hotel is fine but I did not find it to be of a 4 star caliber and as mentioned earlier, the rooms left much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at two different rooms at the Phillips, and both were comfortable, stylish and spacious. The staff was very helpful, and overall the atmosphere of the hotel was grand, but inviting and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderfully restored hotel - if you're into architecture, it's a great place to stay. Very comfortable beds. Located conveniently downtown, and many of the rooms have nice views. My only complaint is that parking is a hassle, as the area has many one-ways and much of it is metered. So unless you're looking to pay valet, then expect a parking hassle. Overall though, this is a great place and I would recommend it to visitors and to people living in KC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.