We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing classic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing classic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Please ignore the Marriot located close by and do yourself a favor and stay here! Classic finishings in the lobby, with a friendly staff and prompt valet service. I love that they kept the orginal elevators- it just adds a nice touch you don't find on chains. Clean room with comfy beds.

Do not miss out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on our wonderful staff and product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    176
    69
    34
    26
See reviews for
61
193
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a gorgeous art deco property with attractive comfortable rooms (smaller than some) and a pleasant staff. May not be the best choice for a business group, however. We had 8 or 9 in a conference room and the wi-fi was not adequate to allow everyone to connect. Restaurant was good, quick and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is unique and you can't get that from a chain. There is an old British feel to it.
The valet is a bonus but costs. We brought dogs and they are really pet friendly with providing an awesome dog bed and an eating pad. But the grass is 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is rated as a four star. The lobby is beautiful but my room left much to be desired. There were some thoughtful touches with decor but the mattress had a sink hole in the center, there was no in room safe, or refrigerator, the sheets and towels were of low quality, ie- very rough on the skin and the heating/ac unit made a racquet. The room was decently clean- by no means spotless, and housekeeping did a perfunctory job.

The major downside is that there is no parking. Kansas City is a driving town and a car it is imperative if you want to go anywhere other than the lame Power and Light district (where the hotel is located). There is no on street parking, and the hotel offers valet parking for $18 overnight. It is irritating and the one major flaw.

I should add that I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at the restaurant below- it exceeded my expectations.

This hotel is fine but I did not find it to be of a 4 star caliber and as mentioned earlier, the rooms left much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at two different rooms at the Phillips, and both were comfortable, stylish and spacious. The staff was very helpful, and overall the atmosphere of the hotel was grand, but inviting and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderfully restored hotel - if you're into architecture, it's a great place to stay. Very comfortable beds. Located conveniently downtown, and many of the rooms have nice views. My only complaint is that parking is a hassle, as the area has many one-ways and much of it is metered. So unless you're looking to pay valet, then expect a parking hassle. Overall though, this is a great place and I would recommend it to visitors and to people living in KC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked a stay through Priceline.com and the reservation for Hotel Phillips was made. I looked up some information on the hotel before traveling so I would know what to expect. I read a few reviews, good and bad. It's an old hotel, which adds to the charm of staying downtown. The lobby is beautiful and check in went smoothly. When we got to our room the door was very tight to open and close and had to be nearly slammed to close. My first impression of the room was not best. There were two very small beds with a partial wall between them. This would be great if we were just having a girls weekend away, but not a romantic getaway for a married couple of 25 years. After a few minutes I called the front desk to see if we could change to a different room. I was told there was nothing available and that maybe I could push the beds together. Really? Because of the partial wall, which held a furnace, that was not possible. I was put on hold for a moment and when the clerk returned she said they may have something open up later or they could offer me a $30 voucher for the restaurant. After discussing with my husband we decided to just take the voucher instead of repacking and changing rooms late at night. We had to go through several people to even claim our voucher, which got to feel like begging.
The room itself was decorated nicely. It was surface clean except for the bathroom. In the bathroom the wallpaper edges were curling and the grout in the tub/shower was mildewed. The restaurant was nice, and the food was good. The seating was a bit uncomfortable and needed to be fixed. The old upholstery was in goods shape but the seats were broken down causing you to sit very low. I noticed other couples having the same experience with the seating.

We used valet parking for the $18 per-day fee. Checkout was fairly smooth as well.

When we returned home I checked my statement a only to find I was charged $30 by the hotel. The only charge we incurred was the valet parking fee. I am contacting them to see what this charge was for, but I have a suspicion I know already.

I doubt I stay there again. It want horrible, but it was t fabulous either. And if I am being charged for my complimentary voucher, well that is unacceptable. Using Priceline I had a decent price for the hotel. If I actually received the $30 discount on the voucher, I would be pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate all comments and feedback, and have looked into the $30.00 fee. It was due to authorizing in advance for any incidentals you might incur, not charged, however a debit card will take several days to clear if not used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.