We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Canton, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Phillips for our Anniversary. We loved it. From the decor of the lobby to the staff to the fantastic rooms. Honestly it was a + for our trip and not just a place to sleep. Definitely worth consideration.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    123
    47
    20
    17
See reviews for
43
119
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stay at the Phillips about once a year so it is easy to guage its progress from one trip to the next. This time it looked fresher and in better condition than my last visit. Room was clean and in good condition, which is important for an old classic hotel that could become tired if not cared for. I was disappointed that they apparently don't have a loyalty club since I plan to stay here more often in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. The location is great if you like the P & L district. Personally, I can't stand it and prefer to stay by the plaza. But, the bride had this place pre-selected. I had a king suite. The room was spacious and very nice. The bed was really comfy. Service was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased we provided great accomodations and service for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel overall, excellent staff and ammenities. The location is central to Light and Power and other downtown districts. Deals should be available which makes this the perfect stay in a truly awesome mid west city

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We offer packages and deals on our website that offer value to travelers whenever possible. We appreciate your feedback and fondness of our mid west city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the weekend of the Bruce Springsteen concert. We really enjoyed our stay. This is a great historic hotel with updated rooms (but old windows). Complimentary wine and cheese on Friday evening. I have just two concerns: 1) only one night stand on one side of the bed, and 2) the restaurant was not prepared for the post-concert customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your honest feedback, and acknowledge the bar staff was not able to satisfactorily anticipate the crowd. We have many different room types and the smaller ones have room for only one night stand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love Art Deco and was glad to see this beautiful gem saved and restored. The staff was helpful and the location was very nice. Ate in the hotel grill/bar, it was excellent food and drinks. My only complaint would be the bar management. They need to be better prepared for large events or crowds. I was there to attend Bruce Springsteen Concert and afterwards the bar was overworked and understaffed. One bartender, 2 wait staff and an entire section on the side not being used and people were standing and waiting to sit down. Very poor planning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the wait for drinks after the concert. It is difficult to anticipate the volume of potential business as each venue is often not consistent. However, we disappointed you and we will try to anticipate better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Phillips for a weekend in early November while in KC for business. We were impressed as soon as we stepped into the stylish lobby. Someone did a thoughtful, tasteful job creating a warm, elegant but not fussy space.

The hotel's live jazz performance in the evening was a great way to unwind. We were bummed to have missed the earlier complimentary happy hour in the lobby. The business services center was last minute life saver too.

Our double room was very spacious and the layout granted is both some privacy. We also liked the big bathroom.

The one area for improvement I saw was slacker valets. They often couldn't be found or if around, couldn't be bothered to stop chatting to take a claim ticket or fetch cars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate positive and negative points. We will certainly review with Valet associates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.