We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely interior, free wi-fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bismarck
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely interior, free wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My room was nice--more spacious than I would have guessed for an older hotel. They had some great furniture in the room, lobby and mezzanine/terrace area. Connected to a great bar/cafe. I did eat a catered meal by the hotel, which was not very good. Nice view from the room. Slow and small elevators. No hand towels in the bathroom.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for telling us of your experience. While we are pleased you enjoyed your room, we are sorry your dining experience at an event was disappointing. You may contact me directly so that I can gather more information. Perhaps we can make adjustments for future similar events.
danbergmann@hotelphillips.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    178
    73
    36
    29
See reviews for
62
197
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby and mezzanine. The parking valets are courteous and hardworking. Beyond that, conditions deteriorate. Reservation clerks are uninformed re hotel prices and policies and are haphazard with details. Housekeeping is very poor with dusty rooms, nonworking lights, broken hairdryer and docking station. Linens included ample towels but only 2 washcloths for 4 guests. Bed pillows were left on the floor after the beds were made. Carpets, lampshades, window blinds were very dusty. Restaurant staff could not accommodate more than 12 diners at one time (3 tables of 4 each). The food is good, but the servers are inept. Despite the Power and Light District's renaissance, and the convenient location, the Hotel Phillips is a big disappointment. How unfortunate that the manager is disinterested about repeat business! He offers no apologies for the conditions and the poor service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
There were indeed many items we failed to handle correctly or at all for this guest for which we provided a negative experience. This series of events is not shared by everyone, and unfortunately, everything could have been handled better. We offer no excuses and use the feedback for improved training for all departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a super hotel. Very nice. Marvelous staff. Easy to get to in the heart of KC with easy access to freeways and restaurants. Their afternoon reception was a welcome that was fun to participate in. The hotel restaurant had a wide variety of items, with good prices for a large city. Valet parking was a welcome luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments and sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing every guest at our complimentary reception weeknights at 5pm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We passed through Kansas City for one night and this hotel is beautifully restored if you like older hotels. We had a high floor room with some city views. The nightly complimentary cheese and wine happy hour was a hit as we had a wonderful meet up with friends who were also staying at the hotel. The free wifi in the room was a wonderful bonus. However we had a A/C-Heater malfunction in the room as the fan won't stop blowing and the thermostat did not work, but the engineer came and disconnected the fan. Good thing we didn't need A/C nor heat for the night.

If you are driving through, the parking is $18 with in and out privileges. We used this as there was no BBQ restaurants within walking distance and the downtown area was not very vibrant at night so we had to drive to the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate your comments and the feedback on the incomplete repairs to the fan unit, as it will be addressed. Thank you for staying with us, and customer feedback is vital towards training of our associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

An older hotel perfectly situated in a wonderful location. We were traveling home to California and this was just a quick stop over. There were so many things within walking distance. The area felt very safe at night. The bed was comfortable and i liked having a window that opened in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again at Hotel Phillips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a delight to find Hotel Phillips! Having moved away from Kansas City after childhood, and visiting downtown 15 years ago and finding it in serious decline, it was amazing to stay in this hotel in the refurbished Power and Light district. It is so centrally located, and within easy walking distance to great restaurants, historic sites and lovely architecture. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beds were amazingly comfortable, and the common areas perfect for relaxing with a cup of coffee and the paper. The decor of our room was lovely, and during our stay the whole floor seemed quiet and well ordered. We ate one evening in the hotel restaurant and were delighted with a live jazz duo and good food and wine. Overall a wonderful 4 night stay and we will return!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we hope to see you back in Kansas City soon.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

There were a few flaws: tub drain plugged up (they fixed it quite quickly), only one bedside light, really creaky floor when walked on, poor quality food and service in restaurant. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Updating any busy hotel is almost always necessary, and along with our efforts to continue to refresh and provide wonderful experiences, we thank you for your feedback and business.
Dan Bergmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.