We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phillips to your Saves list
Hotel Phillips
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Phillips for two nights for a wedding. I have mixed feelings about the property. Neat decor and history, but the overall cleanliness was not appealing. Upon check in we were told all rooms had recently been renovated. I'm not sure what they renovated - our wallpaper was peeling off of the walls. Carpet was fine though, which I guess is more important. Our bed linens and comforter were stained and very unappealing. After calling the front desk, they attempted to rectify the problem; however, the second set of sheets were worse than the first. After we stripped the sheets, we realized how disgusting the mattress pad was - hair and stained/soiled. Staff did not have another for us, so we had to make do with the extra stained sheets as a replacement for the mattress pad. The next morning housekeeping got us a clean mattress pad and sheets in much better condition. As far as a wedding location, it was great. The ballroom for the wedding was very cool and the food was awesome. Although the front desk staff and housekeeping were very pleasant, I would not stay at this hotel again. For the price I had to pay, I expected more. Also, this would not be a good place to stay with a family. Our small children were not with us and I was happy for that. There are not kid-friendly amenities, nor even vending at the hotel. My husband and I wanted a small snack one afternoon (nothing big enough to warrant room service or the hotel restaurant) and we had to go to the Holiday Inn down the street and use their vending options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    159
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
57
168
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Hotel Phillips is a beautiful art-deco property built in 1930. Its recent renovations have brought it up to a high standard that you would expect at any very well-run first-class hotel. Reviewers before me have already raved about the the elegant and cozy lobby that transports you back to a time gone by (but truthfully, piping in "hip" lounge music is a tish irritating, even though I understand it's meant to "de-stuffisize". Uhhh, lose the lounge music and pipe in retro Billie Holliday, for example).

My room, 1910, was very tiny, which is not a problem for me since I was only one person and I'm not very large. The room is renovated and fitted out with all the expected amenities. A very nice touch were the wooden Venetian blinds, a nice relief from grim, heavy drapery found in most hotels. The room was clean, save for a coating of dust on places one would not ordinarily look, such as the lamps, the blinds, and the luggage stand. Other very tiny issues: Dim bathroom lighting; loose toilet seat; hot water running from the cold side of the tap all day Sunday; fitted bottom bed sheets would prevent the bunching up of the linens during the night. By the way, the bed was very comfortable, otherwise.

Mandy, Usman, and Gil, at Reception are stars. Generally, the entire staff was bright, cheerful, and knowledgeable.

The restaurant is pleasant, but the food was not exceptional.

My Kindle Fire would not connect with the hotel's wi-fi, despite the efforts of Gil and Mandy to get it going. They went out of their way to help, but, apparently, the Phillips' wi-fi service needs a bit of a tweak.

Finally, the location of the Phillips is excellent. No more than a couple of blocks is The Power & Light District, which has a great food market, "Cosentino's", a fun bar/resto called "Bar Louie's", and other dining options which will not break the bank.

A ten minute walk got me to the brand new, and magnificent, Kauffman Performing Arts Center, where I took in a brilliant production of the Barber of Seville, performed by the wonderful Kansas City Lyric Opera. The Nelson-Atkins Art Museum is world-class, and is a mere ten minutes from the Phillips. A person appreciative of the arts will not find KC lacking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Service at a hotel makes all the difference and this hotel is certainly lacking in this area. We both travel extensively for business and pleasure and would not recommend this hotel for its price/value ratio.

While this hotel is beautiful, the staff is significantly inefficient. The day of check-in they could not confirm our reservation because their computer "glitched" and it was under my guest's name. After addressing the issue over the phone, my guest arrived earlier and did the initial check-in. When I arrived later that day (after working a long day), they could not give me a key because my name was not on the reservation even though I made the reservation under my name - very frustrating! The day before departure we asked for a late check-out and they very promptly responded that we would have to call in the morning. We called at 9 am and they said we could have a late check-out if we paid for a half day! The room service also missed a few requests with our breakfast. The corner suite room is just a normal hotel room - no fridge, etc. Overall, we were just under-impressed with our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Beautiful art deco renovation. Years ago this was the Radisson & it was a dump. Now, the lobby is gorgeous & the rooms are renovated. Excellent location, reasonable valet parking (you will need a car in KC), free wi-fi. Definitely recommend it. Only drawbacks are a lack of black out curtains, so if you don't want light this isn't for you. Also, the bathroom was minescule. Very nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I recently spent our 10 yr anniversary at this hotel. We were unfamiliar with the hotel and the downtown KC area but were surprised at the convenient location just a few miles straight N of the Plaza shopping district and all the entertainment just within a few blocks of the hotel. Within one mile we found great restaurants, an awesome AMC theatre, and a really nice atmosphere for walking the block. The staff was courteous and helpful and the room was very cozy and clean. I will stay here again and recommend it!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was a great hotel in an interesting district of town. The rooms were a comfortable size and surprisingly quiet for being in a downtown area. My housekeeper, Rita, left daily notes on my bed with uplifting messages. It was actually very sweet. The bar downstairs was awesome and a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here for a single night on a business trip. The hotel decor, particularly the common areas, was inviting. My room was on the small side but quite comfortable. The pillows and comforter were among the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. I really enjoyed having my morning coffee in the mezzanine...lots of comfy, quiet places to sit and enjoy. I understand they also have complimentary wine in the late afternoon/early evening, but I didn't have a chance to partake. The location was great - many restaurants and bars within an easy walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.