We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonder staff of people work here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2975 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Neosho Rapids, Kansas, United States
1 review
“What a wonder staff of people work here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

In September my granddaughter had to have open-heart surgery. Children's Mercy gave us a list of hotels nearby to stay at with discounts.I called around but was very impressed with the way the staff answered my questions and worked with me. I had to reschedule twice do to surgery schedule changing. The staff worked with me and helped me with the arrangements at a very difficult time. I am going to need a place to stay in April as we go through another surgery. Residence inn will be my first call. The staff is very concerned, courteous, and helpful. They need a big thank you. The room was very neat and tidy. Thanks. Gwen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel even through a difficult time for your family. We hope that your grandaughter is doing better and are glad that our staff was able to make it a little easier for you and that the room was kept neat and tidy for your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
15
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Pros: Great breakfast, friendly staff, clean and spacious roooms-great for a longer than 1 night stay and just far enough out of town.
Cons: Our room wasn't ready at check in time and our key card was programed for others to enter our room..there was some confusion and late at night we had to have security let us in our room. However, a handwritten apology w/a free voucher for a market place item was given to us at check out. All in all a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: we had 2 rooms and both were facing away from the parking lot which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Residence Inn properties are always comfortable. This one may need a little update, but we enjoy the space, the beds, the living space with fridge and desk and amenities. Breakfasts are always superior to the run of the mill Hamptons, etc. Desk people are helpful and well-informed. Brought in Gates Bar-b-que from down the street and loved it! Not too far off of I-35, and convenient. We had stayed across the way at the Fairfield property (also Mariott) and this was better for nearly the same price (senior rate).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for being our guest. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel, our breakfast and our staff! Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To be very precise our stay of three nights was comfortable and relaxing more than expected. Staff was quite hospitable, rooms were clean and comfortable, nice ambiance and location of the hotel is very convenient. Breakfast was good, but the breakfast area is not proper and it becomes overcrowded at some times. My wife forgot her gold earrings on the bathroom counter. We called the hotel staff from airport and they safely shipped them overnight to our house. Really nice people. We will definitely recommend our friends and relatives to stay here only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and for recognizing our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your vist and appreciate your referral!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times over the past few years. I stayed here for business at one point and had a great stay and I stayed here last summer while traveling through on a family vacation. Both times, I had a great experience staying here. While traveling with me family, we got a larger suite with a couple of beds and a pull out sofa. There was plenty of room for my family of 5 and I can't say that about a majority of hotels I stay in. Their breakfast was on par with other residence Inn's and their pool was smaller but nice. I love this hotel because of how convenient it is everything and because of how quiet it was. For being so close to everything, you still feel some what secluded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit to our hotel. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your visit! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always stay at this hotel when we travel to Kansas City. The location is great - close to Westport, Uptown Theater, Power & Light, Country Club Plaza, Union Station and the WWI Memorial, and the Crown Center. Since the hotel is geared to extended stay, you get the benefit of a kitchen and a living room area in addition to the sleeping area. I love that the toilet and shower are in a separate room, leaving a dressing area with a long counter for the other party. We tried a slightly cheaper hotel in Westport on one stay and immediately decided we had made a mistake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and the location as well as the spacious suites with full kitchens. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was stuck here an additional two days during last week's snowstorm. I felt grateful to be at this location, as the rooms offer an oven (versus just a cooktop), a full-size refrigerator, and dishwasher. I've stayed at a different Residence Inn in Kansas City closer to the plaza, and my room there only had a cooktop - no oven. Staff at the Main Street location are friendly and helpful, my room and the property overall were clean, and the on-site laundry facilities are well-maintained. I didn't try the complimentary breakfast or show up at dinnertime for snacks, so I can't comment on the food offerings. They do have a little store where you can purchase junk food (soft drinks, cookies, chips, and Haagen Daaz) if you have midnight cravings.

The staff were diligent in clearing the snow during the storm. I hope they read this review because I nearly broke my tail slipping on the concrete to get to Room 212 (a lower-level room). I guess they figured no snow would accumulate there, which was true, but the concrete was still wet and quite slippery. I hope they'll throw some salt down for the next storm to prevent slips and falls. Overall - good experience at this hotel - I'll be back next time I visit Kansas City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn and for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and especially that you will stay with us again! We are happy to provide full kitchens including ovens. We do have microwave meals in our market as well. We will even go grocery shopping for you if you would like! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Address: 2975 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.