We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6900 N.W. 83rd Terrace, I-29, Exit #8, Across Zona Rosa Shopping Mall, Kansas City, MO 64152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not stay again....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel only because most hotels were booked due to a convention that was in town which in fact I was involved in. I was here for 6 nights....It started off bad and just got worse. I arrived at the hotel very early morning after a 12 hours drive only to find out that their credit card machine was down and I was told if I didn't have cash to pay for all 6 nights I needed to find another hotel till the next day and the management could fix the problem. This room was booked for a month with all information entered for payment at that time. And to top it off the employee was not even apologetic at all and in fact she acted as if we were a bother. After a while she finally was able to get the machine to work after 2 phone calls to management. The continental breakfast consist of store bought mini cinnamon rolls, water down coffee, bread for toast, and they did have a waffle machine for waffles really nothing was worth eating so plan on going out and getting breakfast. Once getting to my room, at first I thought this is not so bad but after being there a day I noticed more. The bathroom fixtures were cracks and old. The carpet was filthy, my white sicks were black and once I took them off and stepped for just a second on the carpet to slide a pair of shoes on the carpet felt sticky as if they were just caked with dirt and probably some type of carpet freshener. I was given 2 towels, 2 washcloths, and 1 hand towel while most hotels usually will have 4 towels when 2 guests are staying in one room. The beds were uncomfortable and old. The deodorizer used after room service was so strong throughout the hall way and rooms it was disgusting. The entire hotel is in much need of an update. And several nights that I arrived back to the hotels there were 3-4 Hispanic males drinking beer sitting on the sidewalk as you walked in.. I ran through these reviews prior to booking this room and honestly, I do not see how any of these guest could rate this hotel as "great" or "excellent". And one even said they had a "great breakfast" I guess watered down coffee and store bought cinnamon rolls is great... However there is a Panera bread right around the corner...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel especially if you have children... The carpet is filthy... And a lot of loiteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
17
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay, so here's the deal: there are at least TWO Super 8 motels that call themselves "the Kansas City airport" Super 8. One is located on Barry Road, the other has a Plaza address. Of course, one wonders how the franchise would allow this, but that is another matter.

Both advertise that they have airport shuttle service.

I am a senior traveler and was alone on a business trip. My plan was to fly into KS City, pick up a rental car and stay overnight before driving to my destination elsewhere in KS. Further, three days later, I was planning to return the rental car at the airport, catch the shuttle back to the same motel, and in the morning, catch a shuttle back to the airport for my flight. It seemed reasonable to make reservations at the Barry Rd Super 8 as it was described as the "airport" Super 8.

After my flight to KS City airport, I picked up my rental car and drove to the motel. The woman at the motel desk explained to me that I would have additional charge to have shuttle service three days hence because she called it "park and ride".

Upon completion of my business, I drove back to KS City three days later. After returning by car at the airport, I caught a Super 8 shuttle that would take me to the hotel - I thought. Unfortunately, the shuttle that showed up drove me to the "airport" Super 8 with the Plaza address. Wrong motel. A fellow driving the van was kind enough to phone the Barry Rd Super 8 and request that they send their shuttle to pick me up at the Super 8 Plaza location. I was very tired and was upset that I found myself in such a distressful situation. Further, the Barry Road Super 8 refused to come pick me up. He graciously -kindly- drove me to the Barry Rd Super 8. When I entered the Barry Road office, the woman working there appeared both sheepish AND was argumentative. When I asked her about charging me for shuttle service to the airport the next morning, I pointed out to her that I was not parking any car and should not be charged for "park and ride".

The room was the same kind of room as the previous room had been. Nevertheless, she charged me the extra amount for the second night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed at many Super 8s before, and this was the best one we've ever stayed at. The room was beautiful, super clean and had nice huge waterfall pictures hanging up. The breakfast was great and they kept it well stocked. The manager was super friendly and he was so courteous and quick with getting us checked in and checked out. I would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean and the bed was awesome! Room was very up to date. Used the laundry as well...that was a bit out dated but so what! It did the job. Overall the room was very nice and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean and I appreciated that a lot. All the accommodations like the cable and fridge were convenient and worked well. The only downside was the breakfast - it was not very good and the only thing I thought tasted good was the yogurt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please be advised during my stay my room was booked to another party, while I was still a guest which intially put me in a very difficult situation. Upon arriving at this hotel on 06/03, I had informed the hotel staff that I would more than likely be extending my stay throughout the entire month of June. The hotel staff failed to notify me that this would not be possible due to 25 rooms being pre-booked for a convention that was in the Kansas City, MO area. On 06/05, I called the front desk to extend my stay and was informed my room had been booked, and I would have to check out on 06/06. Although this situation ended up saving me approximately $400.00 by booking a room for the month with another hotel at a lower rate, I am very disappointed in the customer service I received at this Super8. Up until this point, I have been a loyal customer, and have stayed at Super8 hotels in various states while I travel across the country on business. However, based on my treatment, I will be hesitant in utilizing your hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen p, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel. It is disheartening to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. We value your business, and we appreciate that you always choose to stay at Super 8 when you travel. We hope you can still give us a chance t change the perception that you now have on our Hotel. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more, we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd

Address: 6900 N.W. 83rd Terrace, I-29, Exit #8, Across Zona Rosa Shopping Mall, Kansas City, MO 64152
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Kansas City hotel is located off I-29, Exit#8 NW Barry Road, just 5 miles from the Kansas City International Airport. Our centrally located Hotel is 10 minutes to (Sprint Center Arena) Kansas City Downtown, 20 minutes to (Kaufman Stadium), 20 minutes to (Kansas Speedway), 15 minutes to World's of Fun (Theme Park) & also close to several other popular Kansas City attractions. Start each day with free continental breakfast, and check your email with free WiFi Internet access from the privacy of your room. Enjoy the convenience of 24-hour front desk service and free truck / bus parking. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly Kansas City, Missouri, hotel. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kansas City /Kci Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Super Eight
Kansas City Super 8
Super Eight Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Kansas City Airport at Barry Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.