We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7611 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #58 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Frequent guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've reviewed this property twice here on TripAdvisor, and here is my 3rd. This is generally my usual place to stay in KC, because it's such a good value.

I've read some of the other reviews... Don't expect a lot here. It's basic. My room tonight (I'm staying here as I type this) is $44.99 plus tax. This isn't a roach motel, and yes the bathroom is very small (and that dang sliding door to the bathroom). Tonight, my A/C-Heat unit worked great.

I have seen some signs of age here though. The comforter in my room was stained... I saw a stain on the carpet in one of the corners of the room that looked like blood. The smell in my room was funky... almost body-odor like... but not overwhelming. I blame the A/C-Heat unit.

The morning breakfast is great though... Hot (waffles and biscuits/gravy) and cold items. If the breakfast area is too small, take it back to your room... that's what I always do!

All in all, this will continue to be my usual KC overnight stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
36
37
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Sleep Inn near the airport in Kansas City, MO is one of the larger and older Sleep Inns I have stayed at in recent years. Based on my experiences at other Sleep Inns and the nightly cost of a room near the airport in a large American city, I made my reservation on line, even after reading the reviews of previous guests.

At the Kansas City Airport Sleep Inn, the rooms are small, need updating, and, (based on my experience) require thorough cleaning on a regular basis. Our room, especially the bathroom, was very small and poorly spaced. It did not include a bath tub and the small, oval-shaped shower, was in need of a thorough cleaning and major repairs. Stains on the carpet and spots on the wall also detracted from the appearance of the room and were further indicators of the room's need for updating/cleaning.

The breakfast at this Sleep Inn was satisfactory, contained some hot food items, but was not a memorable one that guests would look forward to. Also, for a multi-story inn/hotel with 100+ rooms, the eating area was extremely small, required guests to eat in very "tight quarters," and must have had a capacity of less than 40 persons (my estimate).

I found all members of the staff to be helpful and friendly. However, during my 2+ day stay at this Sleep Inn, I never saw any supervisory personnel or the inn manager and was surprised at the questionable behaviors of multiple staff members. Based on my observations and as I observed on-duty staff playing games on a computer set aside for guests, eating their late-night dinner in the main lobby, carrrying on personal conversations in public areas, appearing casually rather than professionally attired, providing guests with minimal service..., the need for and importance of additional supervision became obvious to me. After watching the CEO of Sleep Inns and other Choice Hotel brands on the Undercover Boss television program, I wish he would have had this Sleep Inn on his list of scheduled stops.

In conclusion and mainly due to its reasonable price (about $60.00 per night for our two-bed room), I would rate this Sleep Inn as "average." Additionally, the Inn provides guests with a free airport shuttle, an added bonus for anyone needing transportation to or from the airport. Potential guests looking for a reasonable rate at an inn/hotel very close to the Kansas City Airport with free airport shuttle service and within a 10 minute drive of downtown Kansas City will want to consider this Sleep Inn. Guests who seek the typical Sleep Inn-type of lodging will be disappointed with the accomodations at this Inn, but pleased to find an inn with Sleep Inn amenities at such a reasonable price and so close to the Kansas City Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Winnebago, MO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

To say our stay at Sleep Inn was less than stellar would be like saying summers in the Middle East may be warm. From check in to check out our stay was plagued with less than pleasant circumstances. We booked in advance, but arrived to find things were not as promised. The queen-size bed we reserved was actually a full size bed, the shower was built for one of Santa’s elves, and the split unit/ HV-AC made more racket than a nursery school after a red-bull snack break. The room was not cleaned properly. Someone-else’s hair was on the floor in the Shower, in the bathroom, and there was even a long red hair made up in the bedding. The pillows were soft, but were also sized for one of Santa’s elves. I have camped out on better surfaces than the one our bed provided. I was careful not to put my suitcase on the floor or bed after seeing a huge water bug run up one of the walls. Between the noise of the AC & worry some huge bug was going to crawl into bed with us to spoon, neither me nor my wife slept well. After a poor night sleep, and a long flight ahead, we went to the breakfast, but were not at ease eating the food… wondering if roaches or worse may have been crawling over the food. We should have stayed elsewhere, and you should too. The only highlight this place had was the park & fly. The shuttle driver was very friendly, and got us right to our gate with time to spare. I would recommend this place shut down for a few days and take some corrective actions. Phone reservations, check-in, facility maintenance, and house keeping all need some administrative attention. I would not recommend this place to a friend.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels in the area. If you choose to stay here... don't put your suitcase on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've stayed at Sleep Inn's before and not had a problem, but this one will leave you anything but rested. Our heating and cooling unit was LOUD, and it turned off and on all night, so we were kept awake by the change from grinding noise to nothing and back again. Add to this the planes taking off overhead and people shouting in the hallway at random times during the night, and we were left exhausted. The only bright spot in our stay was the free hot breakfast. It was delicious and the area was kept cleaned and stocked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I cannot complain much for $55 a night. I picked this place because the location was perfect for me, and I only needed a place to stay for two nights: nothing fancy.

The rooms do look old, but they were clean and quiet. The beds were pretty comfy. Now, do not expect a fantastic breakfast there or an excellent Internet connection. If you want to eat something nice, there is Waffle House just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really had low expectations when I booked my stay here because it was so cheap. I really just needed a place to sleep to catch a flight the next morning. I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Clean room and great front desk staff. It was also pretty quiet for as crowded as it was. The only thing sort of strange was there is no bath tub in the bathroom, but I never use the tub anyway - just the shower. The paperwork said the breakfast was "deluxe" but it was your standard motel fare. It would do in a pinch. This place is one heck of a value and was quite nice. It is not a fancy place but better than the other bargain chains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I did not even stay at this hotel. I tried cancelling a reservation and Jason treated me like I was the worst person he ever met. He was rude, brash, and a complete jerk. I did not know the cancellation policy and instead of politely informing me, he treated me like a complete idiot and threatened me to not stay at their hotels again. Trust me, I won't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City

Address: 7611 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Sleep Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.