We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7611 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
mothspaul
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great value for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

we just stayed here to attend a wedding and booked 2 rooms. The bride had reserved rooms at a closer hotel for 100 per night, but I got this one for 44 dollars a night for 3 adults in each room. i was a little skeptical, but only planned on sleeping there and going home the next morning. it was about 15 miles from the other hotel but I saved 112 dollars on 2 rooms. I was so pleasantly surprised. It was quite nice. it was by the airport but I did not hear any noise and it did not appear to be a bad area. it was not a 5 star hotel of course, but very clean and upkeep had been done nicely. a few bumps and scratches but nothing major. certainly nicer than i expected for the price. and the beds were great. very comfortable and nice soft sheets and pillows. they were the small square pillows. half of us loved them and the other half didn't because they were small. but they gave you 4 per bed. and they had free breakfast and it was not bad. they had make your own waffles. biscuits and gravy with sausage in it. also bagels and sweet rolls, yogurt and apples and orange juice and apple juice, milk and coffee. also boiled eggs but i don't recommend the eggs. they were rubbery. but every thing else was good for a free hotel breakfast and they kept it clean and refilled. also they have an exercise room with equipment but we did not use. also a small pool but it was closed for the season. this place is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
36
39
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This motel is slightly above average in price (especially if you don't book ahead) but has a free shuttle to the airport, friendly staff, well stocked rooms. The only real downside was there was no bath, just a shower. And the pool closes from Labor Day, despite hot sunny weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before flying out for a family vacation. We basically needed a place to stay overnight at a hotel that offered parking and a shuttle. Sleep Inn Airport was a great option. It had all the typical ammenities for a 2 or 2 1/2 star hotel. The room was clean and the breakfast was fine. The shuttle was punctual and the staff friendly. The parking feature was great. We were able to park for a good savings over using the airport parking (no stay required to park at the hotel). The location is right off a major road and the parking lot is in front so it can be monitored easily. We highly recommend this hotel for those who are looking for a good mid-range hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for an entire afternoon and a night while waiting for our flight. The staff was extra friendly, and we were given an option of which floor to stay on. Unfortunately, we choose the 3rd floor, which had a very strong smell of smoke. However, we could not smell it in the rooms which was great. The rooms were clean and quiet, and there were no problems. Breakfast the next morning started early and they had many things to choose from, even biscuits and gravy. For the price, this is quite a bargain! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor. Very strong smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed two nights, Breakfast was good, ceral, biscuts & gravey, coffee, juice, fruit, yogart, etc. Beds were confortable, with four small pillows. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Will stay again if in area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I will start off by saying this hotel is not absolutely terrible - and really does have some hope despite the somewhat dated, cheap looking and sterile surrounding inside. It's not the cleanest hotel I've seen; noting the extremely dirty grout, dusty ceilings (from the air vents) and cob-webbed corners. The condition of the hotel is going south and will continue unless plans of action are put in place soon. Many of the things I saw were simple fixes (filling in holes where things used to be, cracked tiles, carpet separations, etc.) but they seem to just be ignored as they worsen. The decorative appearance inside is somewhat fake with the over-use of several immitation plants and cheesy Walmart brand clocks or mirrors, which pull double duty as band-aids to apparently hide the fact that the hotel needs a desperate facelift. It looks like it's a last ditch effort to try I suppose, but it actually just makes things look worse, crowded and busy. Additionally, the homemade signs taped to the walls or placed on top vending machines didn't help much either. The business center desk, which was very inconveniently located in the small lobby next to what looked like a 90's style garage sale couch, appeared as though it was about to break in half from the two computers and printer pilled right on top. Additionally, if you wanted to use the computer, you almost always risked the chance of someone using the other one directly next to you, which was no more than six inches away and quite awkwardly crowded, so bring your laptop. The housekeeping staff seemed to be the highlight of the trip as they were the friendliess folks in the entire joint! Even though they didn't seem overly-fluent in English, I cannot recall a single time I passed one of them in the hall without a "hello" and a smile. Something which was non-existent from the guest service staff. One of the front desk representatives (MacKenzie) was not by any stretch a professional in customer service whatsoever; and with her almost confrotational and argumentative nature, it didn't appear that she really wanted to be. From the moment of check-in, I had actually hoped that I simply didn't need anything from the staff because it felt like it would have been a bother anyhow, unless it was the manager. He seemed to care quite a bit, but you could literally see the exhaustion on his face as some of his staff continued to work against him; instead of with him, while he apparently tackled all that he could. In terms of the pool; (which was very much looked forward to) was shut down almost the instant we arrived and continued closed throughout our stay. Although it was the proper course of action considering it's dingy green color and cloudy water; it also tells one that apparently the chemicals are not tested or consistently regulated as required; or else it would have never happened in the first place. In that case, I look at it as a blessing in disguise. The rooms were actually quite clean - and the furnishings appeared quite new as well as other updates. The TV was a newly installed flat panel LG and the desk/dresser combo was large and adequate. It appears someone got the ball rolling in this area; I just hope they keep it moving in a positive direction because, well, there doesn't seem to be anything else of which I can comment positively. This hotel is in a really great area - and had a rate you couldn't really shake a stick at: but after that, it truly lacks a lot after those plus sides get you through the front door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I felt it was clean and safe. The staff was very polite and helpful. The food was good.I will be staying at this hotel twice a year to visit my daughter in college. The other guest was friendly.We were able too save some money by having breakfast at the hotel because its included in the price of the room. We had a refrigerator as well. It was better than the one next door.

Room Tip: Non smoking n no pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City

Address: 7611 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Sleep Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.