We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INSANE.. RIP-OFF.. NEVER AGAIN!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INSANE.. RIP-OFF.. NEVER AGAIN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had reserved an airport parking spot online, upon arriving at this location, was ignored initially, then finally was asked "what do you want". I let him know that I had a resv and a flight to catch, which he then refused to view on my phone because it wasn't printed up. (I had prepaid part, and was to pay remainder there.) He was very rude and aggressive - seemed to enjoy berating me with his broken English, and ignored the information I held out to him over and over again. I attempted to read off the info from the emails, he kept saying it's my fault for booking it online (??) Called someone, was speaking Hindi so I didn't understand, but going on 30 minutes now and could not miss my flight. I asked the younger man (turned out to be his son) if he could please help me get a cab to the airport, to which he replied "he'll help you as soon as he's off the phone". I have never seen anything like this. Another woman was waiting with her bags as well, just waiting for him to show us where to park our cars. In the interim he had charged my card a higher amount, still ignoring my confirmation emails from GLOBAL PARKING and reservation # with amount paid. After paying, WAITING longer, still being berated, I simply said "ok, you've already charged me more than was due, but I'll deal with this part later, but yelling about the same thing over and over again won't help, what's done is done. I'm paid in full.. could you please let me know where to park my car so I don't miss my flight?". To this he yelled GO SOMEWHERE ELSE - I'M NOT TAKING YOU ANYWHERE" and threw the cc receipts at me. I was speechless, but then asked the other young man "how can he do this? he's insane!", and he simply said "you'd better watch it - that's my dad you're talking about.. this is just how he is, and you shouldn't have argued back with him." Argued? When?? Have never faced such incompetent unprofessionalism.. I had worked in the hospitality industry for years, (front desk manager at a very nice hotel) and would never have treated a guest in such a rude manner. In the end, I drove to the airport, parked in long term (the only way I'd still make my flight) and paid an additional $117 when I returned. Not only was I charged the full amount at this dump, plus the deposit online with Global, he (mgr) never canceled the transaction!! He ended up with nearly $40 of my money and did nothing for it. I will NEVER recommend this remote parking service, or this disgusting hotel. It smelled of mould, had garbage on the floor and the so called manager clearly has an issue with women who don't agree with his idiotic behavior. F-

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    16
    27
    51
See reviews for
33
16
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel because they offered shuttle to and from the airport and $4.00 parking per day. When I returned on January 6th, Kansas City was experiencing record COLD temperatures. I called the hotel and was told I needed to stand outside in the median to be picked up. I expressed concerns about the cold but the OWNER told me they were only a few minutes away. After standing in the cold for nearly 20 minutes, I called the hotel. The owner told me that, if I did not stand outside, he would not have his driver pick me up. When I tried to explain that I had been out in the freezing cold, the OWNER proceeded to tell me to "Go to HELL. I am not going to pick you up!!" I managed to get a ride.When I finally got to the hotel, I confronted the owner about how he handled this situation. He proceeded to yell at me again and pick up the phone to call the cops!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The only thing good about this stay was the young woman who took our reservations and it went downhill from there. The hall outside our nonsmoking room reeked of smoke. The room was dirty. Ring around the bowl in the toilet. The air conditioner was noisy. After being in the building for approximately 4 hours I experienced an asthma attack at night. That has never happened to me before. I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay here if you want:

dirt toilet
mold in shower
ants in your room
no shampoo without asking
a general dirty feeling
a shower you cannot adjust that will beat your skin off
a front desk that cannot break a S20

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable that's all one can ask for during a one night pit-stop. The hotel was a 20 minute drive to downtown Kansas city. We did not make the drive and found a closer place to go out for dinner called Zona Rosa. there were a variety of shops and restaurants in this town-like complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! Grear value!!!!! The employes treated us like family!!! The room is big and breakfest is really good. The bar prices are cheap, they have really good specials. The employee Ronda was very sweet and always made us feel like we were important. I will be returning to this hotel and will recomended it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.