We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no longer a Clarion” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no longer a Clarion”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay here if you want:

dirt toilet
mold in shower
ants in your room
no shampoo without asking
a general dirty feeling
a shower you cannot adjust that will beat your skin off
a front desk that cannot break a S20

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    16
    27
    55
See reviews for
35
18
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable that's all one can ask for during a one night pit-stop. The hotel was a 20 minute drive to downtown Kansas city. We did not make the drive and found a closer place to go out for dinner called Zona Rosa. there were a variety of shops and restaurants in this town-like complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! Grear value!!!!! The employes treated us like family!!! The room is big and breakfest is really good. The bar prices are cheap, they have really good specials. The employee Ronda was very sweet and always made us feel like we were important. I will be returning to this hotel and will recomended it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a Clarion until a few days ago. I am guessing the lost their franchise and I saw first hand why. I am pretty sure they are not running the AC in the lobby since the front doors were open on a 97 degree day. Which leads to the flies on the lobby/breakfast area.

The rooms smelled of mildew and the desk person (I think it was a actually the shuttle driver manning the desk) cared less.

Room Tip: shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was hands down the most scummy, disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in.. Upon walking off the elevator onto the 2nd floor where our room was I could instantly smell mold (my 16 month old is VERY allergic to mold and mildew), before even entering our room I went straight back down stairs and asked for a refund due to my daughters allergy and the smell and the JERK (owner, i later found out) stated NO WAY.. that this is how hotels work and I would not be getting one penny back. I then asked if I could speak to some one above him, his exact words were that the only person above him was GOD!!! I was completley shocked and outraged and then I said that was absurd and I wanted to speak with someone and his wife, who out right called me a liar and said that my daughter was not allergic to "anything in their hotel" confirmed that the only person above the JERK I was speaking with was GOD!. Needless to say, we got charged for the room and ended up leaving and having a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Next door

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was easy to get a room. Nice airport shuttle service. But my room was nasty with stained carpet and a flithy shower curtain. I was very unpleased. Will not be staying again I will make sure that I preplan for a cleaner hotel when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were booked into the hotel when our flight was canceled. I did not have very high hopes for an airport hotel. The hallway decorations and lobby are pretty standard. However, the rooms were very nice, comfortable beds, and lovely courtyard swimming pool.

The best part of this place is the people. They really pulled together to handle the mad dinner rush that the airlines thrust on them. The food was good, but the service and friendliness were terrific. This hotel is clearly not geared for this type of dinner rush, but they really tried and everyone pitched in and was friendly. I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.