We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food & Brewery

Granite City Food & Brewery
8461 NW Prairie View Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153-1842
816-587-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 1,201 restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Burgers are quite good! Great place to get good food, beer and spend some time with friends! If taking a large group, might want to call ahead as they can get really busy in the early evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    27
    41
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop if shopping nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopped here for lunch while attending a conference (needed to get outside for a bit), and it was conveniently located in a shopping area. We had a sampling of their beer (some of us ordered the Oktoberfest seasonal, some ordered the blonde ale). They had some great appetizers, a good soup of the day, and a grilled chicken dish that could be served with vegetables instead of fries/chips (I had green beans and they were seasoned just perfect). Good staff, quick service, tasty food. A good choice for lunch. I'm sure their dinners are equally good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WE USED THEIR PARTY ROOM FOR WEDDING RECEPTION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very good food at a good price. The Zona Rosa location has a party room that we used for my daughters reception.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had the pretzels to start the evening...yummy. the beers were good, although my first choice was not available. The pilsner I drank was very much like my favorite German beer, Bitburger. My steak was cooked to perfection. Everyone at the table enjoyed the food. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Food great as always, seating process lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only hit GCB once or twice a year as we travel through Kansas City, so it is greatly anticipated. We started out with an extremely annoying experience this time though, had a heck of a time getting seated. Checked in with Hostess, told her we would like a table and not a booth, took our buzzer and waited less than the 20-25 minutes quoted. Took us in to the dining room and tried to seat us at a booth. We politely reminded her of our request and asked again for a table (walked right by an empty one, but was told it was "reserved for a larger group"). Went back in to the waiting area, took another buzzer and settled in. When the Hostess seated us this time we went on a sightseeing adventure of the restaurant looking for a empty table somewhere in the dining room. No luck, back to the waiting area and another buzzer. Finally they came and got us again and we went to the table that was sitting empty this whole time "waiting for a larger group", Still not sure why this was such a convoluted process this time, but really detracted from our dining experience.
Now for the good- our meals! Wife had a great rib eye she really enjoyed and I had a sirloin. Food never fails to meet expectations here. Appetizer was the pretzels, make sure to order off the classic menu to get the good beer cheese dip. Newer one on main menu is very spicy with jalapenos.
Good outweighs the bad for sure, this will not detract us from coming back- but we will not be visiting on a Saturday evening next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.