We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and great comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Exchange Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Courthouse Exchange Restaurant
113 Lexington Ave, Kansas City, MO 64120
(816) 215-0344
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Restaurant details
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cozy and great comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Go down the stairs - it's in the cellar. Attorneys and judges frequent this place so be sure you're not wanted for anything. This is great food, great atmosphere, high booths, you are able to talk and enjoy your meal. Directly across from the old courthouse.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great atmosphere in the basement of a building on the court square. I had the Philly cheesesteak and hubby had a hamburger. Both were excellent but the real treat was the bread pudding. Outstanding and one serving is enough for two people.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I ate here several times during our week long stay. The food is pub fare but is excellent and the service is excellent as well. Try their homemade applesauce it is super.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a group of 15 people that ate lunch at the Courthouse Exchange. Everyone ordered variety of sandwiches and salads. I personally had a Ruben Sandwich with Green Beans and Homemade Applesauce. I love Reuben Sandwiches and this one did not disappoint me. The applesauce was wonderful. We also ordered deep fried pickles and they were great. Most of us, this was a first time eating the fried pickles. Anyone who like Dill Pickles will like them fried,

The service was excellent and they were quick to serve us. They were aware that we were coming at 11:00 am. We were first people to eat, but when we finished, there was a large line to get in. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great fried chicken also the mashed potatoes and gravy very good. Service was good price inline with most other restaurant atmosphere was also nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courthouse Exchange Restaurant also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Courthouse Exchange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Exchange Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.