We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a conference at the Sprint Center. The hotel is very clean and appealing to the eye. The décor is very modern and there is a waterfall in the lobby. We didn't check out the restaurant or the fitness facilities or pool. For the most part, our stay was pleasant. We had an issue at check-in where they separated our party onto different floors (we had three rooms), but resolved it to where we could be on the same floor. The walls are thin. Our neighbor had his TV blaring to where it was difficult to go to sleep. We called the front desk and security came within ten minutes and asked him to turn it down, which he did. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
amd78- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference and loved the new updated feel to our hotel. I apologize for the frustrations you encountered during your check out but am happy to know our staff worked quickly and efficiently to resolve this matter. It is our goal as a Westin to create a relaxing and accommodating stay for our guests and knowing our team was able to create this experience means a lot. The Westin looks forward to having you back as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    378
    186
    86
    46
See reviews for
291
292
79
659
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogue Chitto, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a very nice stay during my most recent convention. Downstairs staff was helpful when questions asked. The maid staff was kind in making sure all was well with the room. After hours the bar was quite nice with food that was way above what one would consider 'bar fare'. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. I would definitely stay there again if given any reason to be in Kansas City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Bobby M- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay during your convention and that our staff was warm and inviting, making sure you had everything you needed for a relaxing stay. Your feedback means a lot to our team and we look forward to serving you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had 3 nights in the Westin. As the review title says it was "acceptable". The best parts are the kind staff, nice beds, and the refurbished lobby. The downside is the general shabbiness of the rooms, of the gym, and the hotel itself. The renovation needs to move beyond the lobby!

This is a hotel I can comfortably stay in, but it is not a hotel I would seek out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
SuTengKai- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay with us at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you loved the new lobby renovations and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, ensuring you had everything you needed for a relaxing and refreshing stay. Your feedback is very important to our team and can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the future to create a top notch stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After a string of less than mediocre hotel experiences over the past year, Westin to the rescue!

The signature white tea fragrance welcomed us into the modern, yet comforting lobby. I was pleased to hear a waterfall just beyond reception, because fountains were the only reason I came to KC.

The man who checked us into our room was... excellent! This is the most terrifying part of the hotel experience for me. People can easily show just how little they care about their jobs (or other people), but Westin pulled through, leaving me feeling excited for the future 4 nights.

The room was spacious and clean... and what's that? A view of a fountain!

The only complaints I have:
1) An issue with housekeeping not coming until the one exact time I asked (twice) that they didn't come -- We ended up being very rushed getting dressed for a wedding.
2) We did the breakfast buffet and the food was just okay.. I'd recommend going somewhere else if you get excited over good breakfasts.
3) They charge to use the fitness facility. C'mon.

What else do you need to know?
-The lobby bar is delicious and pleasantly priced for both food and drinks
- Self-park was $16/night, but you get in-and-out privileges
- You may get the chance to meet some crazy, intoxicated football fans in the elevator
- There's a lovely restaurant with wonderful mashed potatoes in Union Station just a couple minutes walk away

All in all, a great experience, even though I was in Missouri.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Brooke H- I appreciate you taking your time to share your refreshing feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. Reading your warm comments means so much to our team and we are delighted to know our staff was friendly and accommodating, going above and beyond to ensure you had as relaxing and refreshing an experience as possible. I am pleased you enjoyed all the amenities in The Westin provided to you as our guest. We truly value your loyalty and cannot wait to creating many more top notch, memorable experiences for you in the future! Thank you again for your warm comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a couple nights at the Westin Hotel while on business. It is a very nice hotel with all the luxuries you would expect. The lobby is huge with many areas to sit for private conversations. Connected to the Crown Mall, there is much to see and purchase. The room was spacious with a wonderful view of the city. Starbucks coffee and real creamer is in the room. I loved the "rain" type shower that was both refreshing and gentle. We visited several mall restaurants and found fine food. The Westin is a bit pricey but well worth it for the experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
83Bill83- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am so pleased to hear what a great stay you had with us and were able to relax and unwind, enjoying all the amenities provided to you as our guests. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great you took full advantage of all the attractions and restaurants connected to our hotel in Crown Center. We truly value your business and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future, creating many more refreshing and memorable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are in the second day of our semiannual trip to kc to visit family and have strayed from our usual intercontinental to try the Weston for the first time since its renovation and although I had high hopes, I will not be returning. The room is nice with a patio walkout to a grassy area, however, it had not been serviced in some time as it had dead and a live bug on the floor and the fridge was warm and unplugged. Check in was a total hassle with no bellhop or cart available when we had four suitcases, two car seats and two children under two dropped off in front of the hotel by our car service. The man checking us in was nice enough but was "on loan" from the Sheraton next door and so had little info about the hotel or rooms. Wifi costs $10 per day for slow or $20 per day for high speed. Our room keys stopped working at noon today even tough we are here for five nights. Not fun to get to your room with shopping bags and kiddos only to have it not work. Had to call for housekeeping to service the room when they hadn't come by 1:30. Many little things that translate into a hassle that we hadn't experienced elsewhere. Lastly, one of our party was in a wheelchair and the lack of ramps and accessibility has been downright embarassing. He had to call security to get the chairlift to work when coming in from the parking garage, and the chairlift key was missing from the chairlift to access the pool, although the attendant was nice enough to let us in through the service entrance. Overall disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dell040- Thank you for taking your time to share your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I sincerely apologize your stay was less than perfect due to the servicing of your guest room as well as hassle you experienced at check in. It is our goal as a Westin to create as relaxinga nd inviting an experience as possible. This is not at all what staying at a Westin should feel like. I have addressed your comments with the appropriate teams so ensure these matters are resolved and no not occur in the future. We truly value your business and would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the future to create a top notch, relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a nice room with an awesome view. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Would love to come back again!!! I love the lobby area and the bar on site. I also liked the cleaning stay they were always smiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
bluejay1327- I appreciate you taking your time to share your refreshing comments on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a relaxing experience you had with us and that our staff made you feel warm and welcome from the moment you arrived, to the moment you departed. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great you were able to unwind after a long day and enjoy the beautiful view of downtown Kansas City right outside your window. We truly value your business and look forward to having the opportunity to create many more inviting, memorable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.